Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Tasted great, but fell flat. Looked pretty sad :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I used a chocolate cake mix, and followed the advice of another review to cut the sour cream down to 4 Tablespoons! Delicious! This is the 5th time I have made it, and my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beanhead2010
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I used a classic yellow cake that already had pudding in it. Being new to baking I didnt quite understand what "folding" the sour cream in meant so I kind of just swirled it around a few times. So in parts of the cake there are clumps of sour cream...yuk!However in the parts that are not clumpy it is soooo yummy. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter. I would definatly make it again just stir it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Use regular sour cream, not low- or non- fat! I used the Classic yellow cake mix and made as directed, except I used low-fat sour cream. I baked about 15 minutes longer than package recommended for bundt pan. It looked perfect coming out of the oven but within minutes fell. Was still good, though! My husband made a blueberry compote to pour over serving slices - camouflaged the damage and made a very tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Utterly delicious, and a nice way to customize a box cake mix. I followed the directions exactly, except I added 10 mins to cook time, and I added the zest of a whole lemon, to cut the heaviness. PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was really simple and went great with fruit & whipped cream. My yellow cake mix had pudding in it so I made the recipe exactly as written. The recipe is a little confusing because you do also add eggs, oil and water per the directions on the boxed mix. Flavor was wonderful & my guests begged for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I used this recipe for making my fathers Birthday cake. He isn't in to over sweet foods but loved this. I teamed it with a simple glaze frosting. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I wanted something quick but also would WOW the teachers at my daughter's school. I made cupcakes because that's what seems to go over best in the teacher's lounge. One of my muffin tins is shiny and the other is dark coated. The dark coated cupcakes fell quite a bit, the other pan turned out nicely. I cut into one of the cupcakes that had fallen, and it looked fine and tasted great. If I make these again, I will try less sour cream. (I baked them at 325 degrees.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I used the butter yellow cake mix (and had already made it completely according to box directions), just added the sour cream and vanilla after, and cooked it in a regular 16x9 pan and it was incredible!!!! I can't imagine how yummy the chocolate one is! I'm going to keep this one in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
You can use a "moist" version of any cake mix. This cake will turn out perfect IF you follow the directions. Use exactly one cup of sour cream. Don't be tempted to use more or you will have a flat cake. Also, use some common sense while cooking this cake. Follow the baking directions on the cake mix box, HOWEVER, make sure you check doneness with a toothpick before you pull it out of the oven. Sometimes, you will need to cook it longer. It depends on your oven, the pan you use, and your level of common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States