Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
The trick to making this recipe "fool proof" is by adding this WARNING to the ingredients. Must use "Classic" yellow cake mix. DO NOT use "butter" recipe/mix. The classice yellow cake mix calls for oil and not butter. The butter recipe does NOT turn out right once you add the sour cream. It will fall flat and be gooey inside everytime with the wrong/butter mix. Hope this helps ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used Duncan Hines Butter Recipe Cake mix. Made the cake according to the box directions, except I subsituted Sprite for the water, added 1 cup of sour cream, 2 tsp vanilla, and 1 box of instant vanilla pudding. Sift the cake mix and pudding, in a separate bowl mix all the wet ingredients, then mix the wet in with the dry. You can bake this cake in any type pan you desire. I bake most my cakes (this one included) at 325. This cake came out moist and delicious. We frosted one layer with chocolate frosting (my daughter insisted) and left the other plain. I prefer plain. The frosting was too much sweet for my taste, however my 4 year old daughter wouldn't have it any other way. Try it, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATMAN72FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is my top secret recipe STILL almost a year later and it always comes out perfectly! I use this trick with chocolate, white and yellow cake mixes... My 14 year old daughter loves making it with me and I am sure it will turn into her top secret recipe... You do have to cook it a tad longer just keep an eye on it and check it frequently at the end. I do NOT use an entire cup of sour cream it is more like 3-4 TBLS people at my office request me to make this cake for office parties...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is a great cake! I used a devil's food mix both times I've made it. The first time I forgot the oil and it still tasted fantastic (although it did fall apart a bit). The second time I substituted cooled coffee for the water. Yum! I melted 1/3 c. of canned vanilla frosting in the microwave and drizzled it on the cake. You shouldn't have a problem with the cake falling if you're careful not to overbeat it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe is great. Adding the sour cream gives the box cake more flavor and a homemade taste. I suspect most people will have to add about 10 minutes to the baking directions on the box because of the addition of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My cake fell flat 5 minutes after I pulled it from the oven, and was doughy, even though I had it in 12 minutes longer than the box called for. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This cake was wonderful. I did change a few things. Using a Duncan Hines Butter Fudge Cake Mix....I substituted some of the water with coffee(1/2 cup)then used 1/8 cup water and the 2 tsps vanilla. I gently folded in the sour cream just until blended. I put the batter in my NordicWare bundt pan and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. The result was perfectly formed cake, moist and good texture. My husband is a moist cake freak and he said it was dangerous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Used this recipe and followed some advice from the previous reviews and it turned out just as great as everyone said it would! Highly recommend this eaten plain or frosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
The first time I baked this recipe it was ate in two days. The children asked me to make it again. The second I made it it was eaten in one day. Very moist and delicious cake. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I followed directions to the letter and this cake fell flat as a pancake and was not cooked through. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States