Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
The first time I baked this recipe it was ate in two days. The children asked me to make it again. The second I made it it was eaten in one day. Very moist and delicious cake. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
I thought this recipe was not only delicious and moist but so easy to make! I chose a chocolate cake mix and added a cup of chocolate chips. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is my top secret recipe STILL almost a year later and it always comes out perfectly! I use this trick with chocolate, white and yellow cake mixes... My 14 year old daughter loves making it with me and I am sure it will turn into her top secret recipe... You do have to cook it a tad longer just keep an eye on it and check it frequently at the end. I do NOT use an entire cup of sour cream it is more like 3-4 TBLS people at my office request me to make this cake for office parties...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Fink Santella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My family LOVED this cake! It was so very moist & delicious. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I must have done something wrong, I followed the recipe exactly & baked the cake for 50 minutes according to the box, then I tested it with a toothpick & it came out clean. Two minutes after I took the cake out of the oven it shrunk half its size. When I cut the cake was very spongy, as if it was not cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe is great. Adding the sour cream gives the box cake more flavor and a homemade taste. I suspect most people will have to add about 10 minutes to the baking directions on the box because of the addition of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is a great cake! I used a devil's food mix both times I've made it. The first time I forgot the oil and it still tasted fantastic (although it did fall apart a bit). The second time I substituted cooled coffee for the water. Yum! I melted 1/3 c. of canned vanilla frosting in the microwave and drizzled it on the cake. You shouldn't have a problem with the cake falling if you're careful not to overbeat it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I followed directions to the letter and this cake fell flat as a pancake and was not cooked through. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made the recipe yeasterday for a party. It came out beautifully with a devil's food cake mix and about 15 extra minutes baking than the recipe called for. The texture was spongey and the cake VERY moist. I didn't confess to my friends it was a doctored cake mix- and they all assumed it was a scratch recipe. The cake did shirnk slightly as it cooled but nothing drastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe is AWESOME! I did increase the baking time by a few minutes (not a big deal since ovens vary). I used a lemon cake mix and then added lemon juice and milk to powdered sugar for a glaze. It was so moist and everyone thought it was homemade! I also tried it with a spice cake mix and served it fresh whipped cream and orange cranberry sauce (try it this Thanksgiving!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States