Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I made this with Devil's food cake mix. I substituted 1/2 the oil for real mayo, sprinkled slivered almonds in bottom of cake pan before baking, and topped it with a simple powdered sugar glaze. My husband said this is by far THE BEST CAKE he has ever tasted! It turned out moist, fluffy, and delish!!!! (I mixed it by hand and tried not to over-mix, so it wouldn't fall.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianCowgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mola, Puglia, Italy
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My cake fell flat 5 minutes after I pulled it from the oven, and was doughy, even though I had it in 12 minutes longer than the box called for. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This cake is great. It is sooooo moist and very easy to make. Who doesn't have a box of cake mix in their cubby! I used devils food cake mix with pudding and it was absolutely delicious. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This cake was beautiful coming out of the oven, but several minutes later it FELL! After reading the reviews and discovering two other reviewers had the same results, I'm wondering if it has something to do with the type of cake mix used? My cake was not even edible (raw and gummy on the bottom). I don't want to chance trying this one again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Fantastic, easy recipe. I used a chocolate cake mix and substituted some kahlua for the water called for on the box, and it was great. Just dusted with powdered sugar instead of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe is AWESOME! I did increase the baking time by a few minutes (not a big deal since ovens vary). I used a lemon cake mix and then added lemon juice and milk to powdered sugar for a glaze. It was so moist and everyone thought it was homemade! I also tried it with a spice cake mix and served it fresh whipped cream and orange cranberry sauce (try it this Thanksgiving!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made the recipe yeasterday for a party. It came out beautifully with a devil's food cake mix and about 15 extra minutes baking than the recipe called for. The texture was spongey and the cake VERY moist. I didn't confess to my friends it was a doctored cake mix- and they all assumed it was a scratch recipe. The cake did shirnk slightly as it cooled but nothing drastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I followed directions to the letter and this cake fell flat as a pancake and was not cooked through. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is a great cake! I used a devil's food mix both times I've made it. The first time I forgot the oil and it still tasted fantastic (although it did fall apart a bit). The second time I substituted cooled coffee for the water. Yum! I melted 1/3 c. of canned vanilla frosting in the microwave and drizzled it on the cake. You shouldn't have a problem with the cake falling if you're careful not to overbeat it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe is great. Adding the sour cream gives the box cake more flavor and a homemade taste. I suspect most people will have to add about 10 minutes to the baking directions on the box because of the addition of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States