Sour Cream Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Sooo good! Definitely going to make this again! When spreading the batter and layers, there was a point where I thought the recipe didn't make enough batter for the pan, but I decided to trust the recipe and it turned out great! "Spreading" the batter after putting the layer of berries and sugar/butter crumbs was a little tricky...but it turns out fantastic! I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream; more nutritious and less fat. Definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I like homemade blueberry muffins, but rarely eat fresh blueberries (tart texture). Anyway before I made this I reviewed the comments and agree it would have been a challenge to divide the batter and spread the top layer. So, I made the batter then folded the blueberries into it. Then I put the crumble topping on top before baking (I should have halved the topping bc it was a bit thick and crunchy). It was also easy to make. I made this for my fellowship meeting tomorrow and HAD to try it first. I loved it. The cake was so moist and the blueberries were delicious. It was like eating a fluffy blueberry streusel muffin. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made an all organic version & it turned out amazing! Only a few subsitutions which made it less guilty... I substituted the sour cream with organic Greek yogurt, I also used organic cane sugar instead of both the white & brown sugar. 3/4 cup butter works well in the batter... I added 1/4 cup extra yogurt to make up for the difference. I couldn't find fresh organic berries but had my own frozen organic from summer. Defrosted the berries, which left a little juice. I also substituted the slivered almonds instead of pecans. When making the layered mixture I put batter first, then crumble, then added all the berries (drizzled the juice on top of berries, then added remaining batter, then added remain crumble & slivered almonds. I used a spring form pan to cook. The cake took about 65 minutes to bake but well worth the wait! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is the best Blueberry Cake recipes I have ever made and tasted! I didn't have any issues with making the layers, I simply plopped the blueberries on top of the first layer of batter, creating a deep ribbon of blueberry in the middle and did the same with the remaining batter. It doesn't have to be a smooth layer, there is baking powder in the mix, and it helps puff up the batter and topping. I added a little bit of nutmeg and mace, as these are alway my fav spices with cinnamon. Don't be put off by the reviews...this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This was absolutely the best blueberry cake recipe that I have ever made! I ran out of sour cream and had to use some ricotta to make up the difference. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is soooo good!! Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeatherMaven
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
very yummy! made almost exactly as written. only change was i used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose, and didn't use nuts (allergy). Took a few extra mins to fully bake, but worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I have it in the oven NOW...I had no trouble doing it just as instructions said. I see it rising and tasted the spatula after it was in the oven, wonderful flavor. This will be a keeper and I usually do not like, if it is not chocolate.m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaclean
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Will make this again. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
So delicious! I made it for a potluck so I used white flour and all the sugar it called for. It was very smooth (I prefer the heartiness of whole wheat flour) and SUPER sweet (I will cut the sugar in half), but good nonetheless. I used frozen raspberries and blueberries and I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. It gave it a dense yet fluffy texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States