Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
Very quick and easy to make because of how the sour cream adds the fat and you don't have to cut in butter/shortening. They are very light and airy. I added sharp cheddar and herbs to make them a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This is a good lower fat version since there is no butter or lard in it but naturally it doesnt have as much flavor. (I used low fat sour cream.) Also, mine needed more liquid so I doubled the water (but I used milk). Everyone loved these biscuits and they were even good leftover for breakfast the next morning, but I surely didnt get a dozen out of the recipe. I had to half it again to even get 6! I guess we like big biscuits....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
You won't find an easier, tastier biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have been trying all sorts of biscuit recipes and most are bland. This recipe was very tasty. I took the advice of another review and added a little cheddar cheese. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
The dough is very sticky; it's important to flour your hands (and the counter and the biscuit cutter, etc.) well! These biscuits are great, though, especially if you are bored with the plain tasting biscuit - these have a slight tartness to them. It's a soft biscuit, not crumbly as biscuits can sometimes get. They taste great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
My whole family loves these. Even my daughter who doesn't eat any bread at all. I too make mine with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adrian, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I had a craving for strawberry shortcake so I made these biscuts as part of my sweet treat- I thought they were great! I tried one with "Smart Balance" first, and on its own it was really tasty. It is a very easy recipe - and I did use low fat sour cream. I used a bit extra sour cream and then added just a few drops of water. I'll definately make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
LOVVVVVVVVVED these biscuits!! I made them for breakfast this morning, and the first thing my husband said was to rave about how moist and chewy they were! We agreed by far these were some of the best we've ever had!! it was perfect because I ran out of sugar & milk- so the recipe was exactly what I needed! Also: after I put the biscuits on the cookie sheet to bake, I spread some melted "Smart Balance" butter on the tops of them with a pastry brush, and they turned out really goldeny brown- and had a rich outer flavor!! && just like everyone said, they ARE very sticky when you shape them, so use lots of flour on your hands!! BUt again, fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Very simple and I like the fact that they are virtually fat-free (I used fat-free sour cream). However, they were a big chewy. The flavor and consistency certainly don't match what you find in high-fat biscuits, but the saved calories does make them worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I've made this many times (they are so easy to whip up), both with and without herbs (depends on what I have on hand) and it always comes out light and fluffy. You don't tate the sour cream at all but it makes the texture extremely soft and airy. My only complaint is that it seems to have a slight baking soda taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States