Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Not too bad at all! I'd never made biscuits before, so this was a great easy recipe to start with. Personally I'm not a real fan of biscuits, but my family loves them. So I would say they're pretty good, but they would say they're great! The only thing is, like others have said, is the amount of wet ingredients. I had to add a few more tablespoons of water, and I think if I make them again, I will increase the sour cream to 1 cup. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These are a keeper! Super easy to whip up, and come out wonderfully light & fluffy, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Wow! I used whole wheat flour and increase the sour cream to 1 cup with a little more water. They came out moist and delicious! So fast and easy! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These are very quick and easy. I didn't have the stickiness problem that some others did. Probably won't use them for a "special" sunday breakfast, but they are wonderful to put in my husbands lunch box for his breakfast at work. When they are reheated they taste exactly the same as when they are fresh. They don't get soggy like other biscuits can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These were pretty good, but I think I prefer the Mayonnaise Biscuits from this site. I added about five more tablespoons of water to get it to drop biscuit consistancy. This worked well with Dad's Hamburger Gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Disappointing. Needed a lot more water. Not as light/airy as described. Been making biscuits for years, with better results from standard shortening/milk recipes. Flavour was ok. Reviews were mixed, & thought I'd try it. Not again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very good and easy! The biscuits were incredibly light and fluffy although I used whole wheat pastry flour. I think next time I'll use low fat sour cream to make them even healthier. They were just a little on the salty side though, so that's why I'm only giving this 4 stars. I think I'll cut down on the salt next time I make these. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
LOVVVVVVVVVED these biscuits!! I made them for breakfast this morning, and the first thing my husband said was to rave about how moist and chewy they were! We agreed by far these were some of the best we've ever had!! it was perfect because I ran out of sugar & milk- so the recipe was exactly what I needed! Also: after I put the biscuits on the cookie sheet to bake, I spread some melted "Smart Balance" butter on the tops of them with a pastry brush, and they turned out really goldeny brown- and had a rich outer flavor!! && just like everyone said, they ARE very sticky when you shape them, so use lots of flour on your hands!! BUt again, fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I had to add a lot more water than what was called for to make a dough. They came out tasty, but small and not as fluffy as I would have liked. Still, they held up well to being used for sausage sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I used Fat Free French Onion dip instead of plain sour cream. Takes care of the bland taste in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States