Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I tried this recipe and these biscuits came out so good and tasted great! I so have to make this again, plus its so quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Just like the other reviews I needed to add more water. I cut the recipe in half to just make 6 biscuits and I still needed to add 3 tablespoons of water. The flavor and texture were nice and I did add in about a table spoon of dried chives since wheh I think sour cream I always think chives too. Might even be nice to add a little shredded cheddar. I just made drop biscuits, not rolled out and cut. I will use this again, but will make a couple modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These were good biscuits. I made some alterations: I grated parmesan cheese into the mix and added some chopped fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made these this morning because I had sour cream but no milk. I like them for this versatility, and they have a nice flavor, but this recipe is too inaccurate for a four-star review. I needed four times the water called for in the recipe, which probably made them chewier than they should have been - I kept adding in water and stirring, so I'm sure I overworked them. Also, I managed to get almost 12 biscuits out of them only by using a 1 1/2 in. cutter. This makes a biscuit much too small to be considered a serving - each person would easily eat at least two. I'll probably make these again, since I often have sour cream and no milk, but I'll treat the sour cream like butter (i.e., cut it in), then start with at least 1/4 c, maybe 1/3 c of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I love these biscuits, they are so light and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These biscuits are light and fluffy and just amazing - they went great with the lentil soup tonight. The only changes I made was I found the dough needed a little extra water and I also added a handful of grated sharp cheddar and some garlic powder. I brushed the biscuits with melted butter and garlic powder with some oregano a few minutes before they were done with added some nice flavor and nice golden tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was my first time making biscuits and these were super easy! Maybe 5 min of prep time, and I just patted the dough into a biscuit shape and put them on my silpat. I like that this recipe is virtually non-fat (I used non fat sour cream and my silpat instead of a buttered cookie sheet). They are pretty bland, though. They don't benefit from the flavor that butter adds. Next time I'll add some cheese and hot sauce in the dough, or maybe a little sugar and spice, depending on how I'm using them. Bland, but super easy, fluffy, moist in the middle, and quick! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Yum! I'm very excited about this recipe because it is so easy and very good. I've made it twice already. The first time was as it was written, but the second time I replaced the sour cream with plain yogurt and added 1 tablespoon of white sugar. I also found that a 10 minute cooking time was just enough. The yogurt didn't make a huge difference, but my fiance and I liked them more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
They turned out well but I made a few changes. I used half whole wheat flour and had to add some sour milk because it was too dry. Simple and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very good, very easy recipie. Moist and crumbly. The biscuits would also taste good with a little melted butter applied to the top before cooking with a brush. Also, I kept adding water to try to get the ingredients to stick and finally just used my hands to make a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States