Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I have to say I didn't really like these very much. They rose perfectly and looked nice, but just didn't have much of any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Mine didn't rise at all, came out hard and flat. Wonder if altitude makes a difference? I'm at 6,000 ft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This recipe was ok...not what I was expecting. I am still searching for the perfect biscuit recipe! The biscuits were good though, with sausage gravy on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I loved these biscuits, they were light and fluffy and not to mention delicious. It's such a nice alternative to using shortening. I used light sour cream and added some cheddar cheese. The first time I made them I used milk instead of water as another reviewer had mentioned and they turned out some what dry. The next time I used water and they were perfect! Although I did have to use almost a 1/4 cup of water to get the dough to the right consistency. Thanks for the quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
The dough is very sticky; it's important to flour your hands (and the counter and the biscuit cutter, etc.) well! These biscuits are great, though, especially if you are bored with the plain tasting biscuit - these have a slight tartness to them. It's a soft biscuit, not crumbly as biscuits can sometimes get. They taste great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have been trying all sorts of biscuit recipes and most are bland. This recipe was very tasty. I took the advice of another review and added a little cheddar cheese. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Very simple and I like the fact that they are virtually fat-free (I used fat-free sour cream). However, they were a big chewy. The flavor and consistency certainly don't match what you find in high-fat biscuits, but the saved calories does make them worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
You won't find an easier, tastier biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
My whole family loves these. Even my daughter who doesn't eat any bread at all. I too make mine with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adrian, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This is a good lower fat version since there is no butter or lard in it but naturally it doesnt have as much flavor. (I used low fat sour cream.) Also, mine needed more liquid so I doubled the water (but I used milk). Everyone loved these biscuits and they were even good leftover for breakfast the next morning, but I surely didnt get a dozen out of the recipe. I had to half it again to even get 6! I guess we like big biscuits....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States