Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Wonderful recipe!!! I needed a quick biscuit or roll to go with dinner tonight and found this one. Including prep and cooking it took under twenty minutes! I did add water as the recipe suggested and as long as my hands were floured handling was a cinch! They were light fluffy and had a good flavor an all around great recipe for a quick biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
It's alright. This was the first time i made biscuits and I had a hard time getting them to stick together properly. I used 2 extra tbs. milk to keep it together but it still turned out floury. But, they did rise up quite well and the biscuits on the bottom rack rose even higher. Delicious when fresh, but I can't say the same for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I've made this many times (they are so easy to whip up), both with and without herbs (depends on what I have on hand) and it always comes out light and fluffy. You don't tate the sour cream at all but it makes the texture extremely soft and airy. My only complaint is that it seems to have a slight baking soda taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Well...these biscuits did not in any way turn out for me! I don't know what happened, but the dough was really sticky, then when I put them in the oven they immediately began to turn black-burned on the top. I checked on them and they were rising, but when I went to get them out, all that was there was a flat mess of burned dough. I have no idea what happened since I followed the recipe. I'll probably give them another go though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I was looking for a recipe that used oil instead of butter or shortening. I found this one and it was good. I failed to read the other reviews, and I wish I had added more liquid. They were dry and bland, but tasty with margarine and maple syrup or honey. I can see why one reader said they went well with strawberries. I enjoyed this recipe but I will add more water to the dough next time, otherwise it is more of a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I had a craving for strawberry shortcake so I made these biscuts as part of my sweet treat- I thought they were great! I tried one with "Smart Balance" first, and on its own it was really tasty. It is a very easy recipe - and I did use low fat sour cream. I used a bit extra sour cream and then added just a few drops of water. I'll definately make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I really like this recipe. They are so moist and tasty. Usually I need to add just a little bit more water to make the dough a better consistency. Very easy and the family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMANDEGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I have to say I didn't really like these very much. They rose perfectly and looked nice, but just didn't have much of any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Mine didn't rise at all, came out hard and flat. Wonder if altitude makes a difference? I'm at 6,000 ft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This recipe was ok...not what I was expecting. I am still searching for the perfect biscuit recipe! The biscuits were good though, with sausage gravy on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States