Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These were really quite good, and easy to make with ingredients you have on hand. Honestly, though...I couldn't tell the difference between these and bisquick baking powder biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Dense little suckers, they were, but as I'm not an experienced biscuit maker, that might be my technique more than the recipe. They managed to stay moist enough to be palatable, so I will try them a few more times to see if I can get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
First of all these measurements are way off, I had to add a considerable amount more sour cream and water too. I think I added several T more of sour cream and doubled the water. Once I got enough liquid in, this dough turned out very sticky and difficult to work with. I settled for what turned out but it wasn't my best result for sure. Flavor was not all that good and they just weren't to my liking although they did turn out very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very good, but I added a bit more salt, and dry ingredients 2 - cups of oatmeal 1 - cottage cheese 2 -cups of flour 2 - tbs baking powder 1 - tbs baking soda smooth out into a sheet pan bake as directed then broiled until brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl Ketchum

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have tried to make homemade biscuits before, and this recipe was the first time I got it right! (I added a little butter and milk tho). My BF said I really out did myself this time, he loves biscuits! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My sis made these for breakfast and they were delicious with the super (chicken) sausage gravy recipe from this site. We used fat free mayo instead of sour cream because we realized we didn't have any after half of the ingredients were together. The hubster said they tasted a lot better than they looked =) Simple, quick & healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Super easy to make, excellent results and great flavor. I did substitute beer for the little splash of water needed to stick the dough together, and I let them stand for 15 minutes after cutting. Puffed up just like ma's. Not "gummy" like other bp biscuits I've tried. A definite keeper! Thanx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
great recipe I am a Kentuckian of 58 years. Biscuits are a way of life. The things I added ( not changed) were I added 1 tbs of sugar to combat the baking taste. I use 1/4 cup 0f buttermilk instead of the water. Also baked on a grid. Brushed tops of bicuits with butter before baking. Baking time will need to be increased by about 4 to 5 minutes. Will use instead of my yeast biscuit recipe that I have used for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
PERFECT! I can finally quit looking for THE biscuit recipe. The effect of the sour cream leaves them perfectly moist, yet allows them to be fluffy. Because of what I was serving them with, I added a touch of herbs and cheese, but I can tell they will stand on their own just fine. My youngest (aka Mr. Finicky) LOVES them! THAT's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were very good! I had my parents over for an impromptu lunch, and realized I had no rolls or anything decent - and ran out of bisquick. I searched the web for a fast biscuit recipe - easy - with minimal ingredients and came upon this. I had chicken in the oven due to come out in 20 minutes, and I mixed the biscuits and had them ready to put in 5 minutes before the chicken came out (FAST!). One confession, I had low fat sour cream and was worried they might be bland - so I added about 3 tablespoons of butter and mixed it in with the sour cream as well. I had NO trouble with the dough being sticky.. LOL!!! not low fat - but they came out GREAT. We topped them with some home-made garlic butter I had made for Christmas Eve (We had some left over) and they were very tasty :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States