Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Mine didn't rise at all, came out hard and flat. Wonder if altitude makes a difference? I'm at 6,000 ft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This recipe was ok...not what I was expecting. I am still searching for the perfect biscuit recipe! The biscuits were good though, with sausage gravy on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I loved these biscuits, they were light and fluffy and not to mention delicious. It's such a nice alternative to using shortening. I used light sour cream and added some cheddar cheese. The first time I made them I used milk instead of water as another reviewer had mentioned and they turned out some what dry. The next time I used water and they were perfect! Although I did have to use almost a 1/4 cup of water to get the dough to the right consistency. Thanks for the quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
The dough is very sticky; it's important to flour your hands (and the counter and the biscuit cutter, etc.) well! These biscuits are great, though, especially if you are bored with the plain tasting biscuit - these have a slight tartness to them. It's a soft biscuit, not crumbly as biscuits can sometimes get. They taste great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have been trying all sorts of biscuit recipes and most are bland. This recipe was very tasty. I took the advice of another review and added a little cheddar cheese. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Very simple and I like the fact that they are virtually fat-free (I used fat-free sour cream). However, they were a big chewy. The flavor and consistency certainly don't match what you find in high-fat biscuits, but the saved calories does make them worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
You won't find an easier, tastier biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
My whole family loves these. Even my daughter who doesn't eat any bread at all. I too make mine with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adrian, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This is a good lower fat version since there is no butter or lard in it but naturally it doesnt have as much flavor. (I used low fat sour cream.) Also, mine needed more liquid so I doubled the water (but I used milk). Everyone loved these biscuits and they were even good leftover for breakfast the next morning, but I surely didnt get a dozen out of the recipe. I had to half it again to even get 6! I guess we like big biscuits....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
Very quick and easy to make because of how the sour cream adds the fat and you don't have to cut in butter/shortening. They are very light and airy. I added sharp cheddar and herbs to make them a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States