Sour Cream Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
As noted by other reviewers, I also needed to add additional water, other than that recipe is good as written. I added some green onions to mine and next time I think I'll add some cheese. Nice fast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I was out of butter but had some sour cream in the fridge. These biscuits were great with my big pot of chicken soup! Really moist, slightly tangy, with a little chew to them. They rose really well. They were super easy and fast. The recipe needs more water though. I think I just about doubled it though I did not measure. I just went for a good, slightly sticky dough, being careful not to over work it which makes them tough. I found my hands to be best. Only got eight normal sized biscuits, not 12. I think if you made small ones you might get 12, but then you would not need to cook them for so long. Perhaps between that and the water is why some had bad results with this recipe. I say give it another try. I will most definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
These were so easy and really good. I only had light sour cream on hand, so added a little melted butter to "fatten" them up. Also added some dried herbs for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very good for a healthy biscuit. I had a cup of fat free sour cream that had ranch seasoning mixed in that I needed to use up and it gave a lot of flavor to the biscuits. I also added some shredded cheddar cheese. They went well with the Potato Soup X recipe on this website. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Excellent! They rose very high. I was impressed by the texture and flavor. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These were quick and easy. I substituted a non-dairy version of sour cream, Tofutti Sour Supreme, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I really don't like to give any recipe a bum rap but I never had a rubber biscuit before until I made and tried to eat these. I've been making biscuits for years and have never had any problems but this recipe simply does not work. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These were light, fluffy and oh so simple to make. The dough WAS really sticky and I did need to add more water than what was stated, but all in all, these will work great whenever in a pinch. Like some of the other reviewers, I did choose to add a little something to these and threw in about a tablespoon of Italian Seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These were easy in a fix -- not the best biscuits I have had, but decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I had no problems making these and they turned out yummy. I added a foccacia spice I had which was pre mixed and I only had my oven at 375 and the baked just right in 12 minutes. Was very tasty with my butternut acorn squash soup I made from this site Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States