Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
The most delicious Banana Cake I have ever made!!! My Banana's were overripe and perfect I added an extra banana to the recipe. I made it with blackberry buttercream frosting and as a loaf with chocolate chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I can't remember how many times I have made this cake, but it's a favorite with anyone who has eaten it. Yes, it's a bit heavy, but nobody has ever complained about it. I make it per the recipe except that I use cream cheese frosting - made the frosting in the recipe once and everyone said they liked it with cream cheese frosting better. Ever since I found this recipe I have not looked for another banana cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Ok.... I just made this cake. The amount of batter that this recipe makes is huge! This cake smells divine while it's baking but the recipe says that when making a 9 x 13 cake, it should bake for 40 - 50 min. I had to bake this cake for over an hour so that the middle was baked. The outsides ended up being very brown. This cake tastes good but it's heavy. I suggest that if you make this cake that you only make the 3 round cake pans as opposed to making the 9 x 13. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is my favorite banana cake of all time, and the only one I make now. I let my bananas ripen until they're almost black, for a strong banana flavor. I also use 3 1/2 cups of regular flour in place of cake flour. Our family loves dense cakes, so I sometimes substitute wheat flour for more nutrition. We also love it without frosting, so I omit that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Kind of heavy. Good frosting - GOOOOD frosting. (WYP) Good - of the 17 I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have used my mother's banana cake recipe for years. Thought it couldn't be beat. Sorry Mom, this has become my new recipe. Makes a large 9 x 13. I made 2 9x9 square cakes and they were perfect. Gave one to my son, kept one for home. The cake is very moist and flavorful. I used a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
When I bake I sometimes modify a recipe, I decided to add a cup of oatmeal and my husband loved it, he said it was the best banana cake recipe he has tasted. I iced only half the cake as some folks don't like the extra sugar. I also put the batter in a bar pan to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I add cinnamon and nutmeg about a 1/2 tsp each...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I made this cake for my husband's men's group barbecue. Some of the younger men in the group dubbed it "Crack Cake" referring to it's "addictive" quality, and my husband said this incredible cake was gone before the meat ever hit the barbecue! THANK YOU for a great recipe that satisfied the taste buds of several generations of men! Like some others, I used 1 c granulated sugar and 1 c brown and made it in the 9x13 pan with frosting. Super simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Really good cake that did not need frosting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States