Sour Cream Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This cake and the icing was a big hit at a party I brought it too. Everyone was asking me for the receipe. A must have at your next occasion .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Wonderful flavor and texture! My mr is an executive chef and when I gave him his piece he raised his eyebrow and said "this is really good Nat!" I did alter the recipe a bit- added extra salt, microwaved my bananas a bit to bring out more nana flavor- the result is a moist flavorful cake. I did not find it too heavy and made pretty much exactly from the recipe. I would advise checking the cake at the first cooking time recommended as it will continue to cook for a couple of mins. I went w a cream cheese sour cream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katherine Brown
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Great tasting cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
The most delicious Banana Cake I have ever made!!! My Banana's were overripe and perfect I added an extra banana to the recipe. I made it with blackberry buttercream frosting and as a loaf with chocolate chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I can't remember how many times I have made this cake, but it's a favorite with anyone who has eaten it. Yes, it's a bit heavy, but nobody has ever complained about it. I make it per the recipe except that I use cream cheese frosting - made the frosting in the recipe once and everyone said they liked it with cream cheese frosting better. Ever since I found this recipe I have not looked for another banana cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Ok.... I just made this cake. The amount of batter that this recipe makes is huge! This cake smells divine while it's baking but the recipe says that when making a 9 x 13 cake, it should bake for 40 - 50 min. I had to bake this cake for over an hour so that the middle was baked. The outsides ended up being very brown. This cake tastes good but it's heavy. I suggest that if you make this cake that you only make the 3 round cake pans as opposed to making the 9 x 13. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Van Hove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is my favorite banana cake of all time, and the only one I make now. I let my bananas ripen until they're almost black, for a strong banana flavor. I also use 3 1/2 cups of regular flour in place of cake flour. Our family loves dense cakes, so I sometimes substitute wheat flour for more nutrition. We also love it without frosting, so I omit that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Kind of heavy. Good frosting - GOOOOD frosting. (WYP) Good - of the 17 I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have used my mother's banana cake recipe for years. Thought it couldn't be beat. Sorry Mom, this has become my new recipe. Makes a large 9 x 13. I made 2 9x9 square cakes and they were perfect. Gave one to my son, kept one for home. The cake is very moist and flavorful. I used a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
When I bake I sometimes modify a recipe, I decided to add a cup of oatmeal and my husband loved it, he said it was the best banana cake recipe he has tasted. I iced only half the cake as some folks don't like the extra sugar. I also put the batter in a bar pan to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States