Sour Cream Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
i thought it was very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle kersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
The 1 hour and 15 minutes is deceiving! No wonder one got rocks instead of muffins! Just go with the "until bread is golden brown on top" I made muffins; 30 minutes to golden brown. One 5x9 inches loaf 40 minutes to golden top! in a regular, no-fancy kind of old oven.... The flavor was good. The sour cream is the secret for a moist fluffy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I prefer muffins instead of a loaf when I make banana bread when it will be eaten at home. It's easier to freeze muffins & pull out just what will be eaten. However, muffins tend to be drier even if I reduce the oven temp or the baking time. About 2 months ago I had 4 very ripe bananas & all of my recipes called for 3. Not wanting to throw away the extra banana I thought to search for a recipe that called for 4. I found this recipe & since the bread was going to a church function I made a loaf. Best darn banana bread I ever did eat.( Yep, I'm a Georgia girl.) Not sure if it is the extra banana the sour cream or both, but the moistness & texture was awesome. Of course I couldn't wait to make muffins & they turned out great. Right out of the oven they were slightly crisp & chewy on the outside & moist on the inside. When I take one out of the freezer I microwave it for 30 sec. Then put it in the toaster oven to crisp the outside. By the way, I threw away all of my othe recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by driggersd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
It came out flat and spongey. It seemed like A LOT of butter. Would love any advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Moist, dense, flavorful, awesome. This is the recipe you have been looking for. Adding the bananas in 2 parts makes a delicious difference as does the cinnamon sugar sprinkle on the top. I did however make a single recipe that was enough for 12 muffins as well as the loaf (albeit in a somewhat smaller loaf pan). I followed others advice and took it out 10-15 min early and wow. It barely made it a day on the counter. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I just made this tonight and I love it! I like my breads moist and heavy including my pumpkin bread recipes. I am not a fan of the light airy "bread" type recipes. Thats why I always look up "sour cream" recipes. So if you don't like heavy moist breads then this is not the one for you. We just ate some warm out of the oven with a little peanut butter on it and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Stoney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This Banana Bread is sinfully good. I loved the crust and the moist center. Followed the recipe word for word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Really, truly good. The processing of the bananas plus sour cream makes it special. Adding nuts/choco chips or coconut just boosts the flavor and texture. I bake for about an hour in a glass pan. It could go a bit longer as instructed, but I'm ok with a bit of squishy banana goodness in the middle. I save that piece for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this recipe (omitting walnuts--blech) as 12 mini leaves in my square muffin muffin pan. They didn't last long at ALL. I liked how WHITE they baked up. I guess my bananas didn't stand a chance of going brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States