Sour Cream Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This bread ended up looking strange because the sides rose up like a box around the top, but the bread was very good tasting. I thought it might cook over the top of the 9x5 inch bread pan because it was almost to the top when I poured in the batter, and I did not use the optional nuts either. However, it did not. I ate those crispy edge corners off while it was still warm and the bread was delicious. I tried this recipe because it was different than most other recipes with using melted better and a cinnamon sugar sprinkled top. I can't wait to taste it when it cools completely. I think this recipe will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this following the exact ingredients and directions, it adequately cooked golden brown on the outside, clean fork upon inspection, but seems mushy in consistency, prefer other recipes I've tried from this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I make banana bread a lot but tried a new recipe because I had some sour cream I wanted to use up. This didn't turn out well for me. Baked it over an hour until toothpick came out clean but once it cooled the middle was just too doughy and heavy. Not undercooked just bad texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
It needs baking soda or will be flat! Otherwise, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I tried many many banana bread recipes, none compare to this awesome awesome delicious recipe. I added a little more sour cream and used Pecans instead of walnuts (I didn't have any on hand). My whole family loved it. Oh so moist and the sugar and cinnamon added a special touch! I definitely will be making it again. gr8agent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this recipe, I've used it several times. The only thing I add is a flour, Brown sugar, butter and cinnamon crumb topping that gives it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Okay first off let me start off by saying I've tried pretty much every carrot cake recipe known to man from this site and many others. I've never left a review because I'm usually just too lazy to be honest so this is a first for me. This recipe is AMAZING. Every time I've made banana bread there is always something that seems to be lacking. Too overdone on top, not enough banana flavor, not moist enough, it's never just been PERFECT. Well THIS is. I'm sitting here laughing because when I gave a piece to my husband to try after it was done I was literally jumping up and down saying YES! YES! FINALLY! That's how perfect it is. I know some of the other recipes on here may stand out due to their bazillion stars but trust and believe this is one serious underrated banana bread! TRY IT! You will NOT be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this recipe exactly as written (omitting the walnuts). I am not a baker, but this was easy! Smells great in the oven and the cinnamon sugar topping is perfect. The inside of the loaf is very moist but not doughy. I used a nonstick loaf pan (though I did still use cooking spray), and as another reviewer stated, I would probably take this out of the oven 5 to 10 minutes earlier next time. It wasn't burned, but definitely browner than it needed to be. Very, very good. Will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this recipe in a quad mini load stone. Just reduced the cook time a half hour and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My family loves banana bread and we are always searching for new recipes. We have a few we always go back to and this will become one of them! Super moist! I see different reviews about cooking times. I had it in the oven for about an hour. I love cinnamon sugar, but I was unsure of it on the bread. It was delicious and crunchy, and even a bit subtle. I will probably also try the recipe without the topping, but it was nice and a bit different. For the one reviewer who gave it one star, saying it was so heavy, I am not sure how they didn't get the right results - I am wondering if he/she skipped the step of beating the sugar & bananas together until they were light and fluffy. Thanks, Grandma-Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States