Sour Cream Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
Great, easy recipe, the topping eliminates the need to make a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I made this recipe recently for my daughter's family. To my surprise, my 15 year old granddaughter whose birthday we celebrate on Easter Sunday requested this recipe as she fell in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Kudos on this one. My family and friends don't want any other kind of apple pie from me again. I did however make a brown sugar crumble topping instead of the one called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was one of the best apple pies I've ever had. I had guests over and they loved it too. I used brown sugar in the topping and needed more flour so to spice the topping up, I added a bit of cinnamon. But otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I made this pie for the girls at work. The pie was tasteless but the topping went over very well. Everyone liked the topping but overall they didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
excellent and delicious!!!!!! the sour cream filling made the difference in this delicious pie. i'm not that great of a baker, so i used a store bought, refridgerated pie dough, which made assembly a snap. the second time i made this i used 6 medium sized apples(2 different varieties for added interest) and the pie was a lot biger and still awesome. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Ok recipe,but everything is just real sweet! decent recipe,just need to play with it to reduce the sweetness level...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Use less sugar for the filling and only about half of the sugary topping and this pie will turn out great!! It is very easy to make and tastes delicious (looks great too!). I also used real vanilla bean instead of the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was fabulous. Made it for coworkers at work and they raved. I will definitely make this again. I've shared the recipe with all my friends and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I make this all the time and it always turns out GREAT. I change it a bit though; I reduce the Sour cream by 2 tablespoons, use 2 large or even 3 medium size apples, used 1/4 cup brown sugar, and reduced the butter in the struesal to two heaping tablespoons. I also add a little brown sugar to the top of it. To keep the crust from burning, I wrap the pie loosely in foil, cutting open the top so steam can escape and the pie can bake evenly w/o a overly brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiehippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States