Sour Cream Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I thought this recipe was a keeper! Everyone at the family dinner liked it and I was asked for the recipe. I did dice the apples quite small to ensure that they cooked through. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon along with the nutmeg. This is a nice alternative to the regular apple pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I don't like apples. I don't like pie. I certainly don't like apple pie, but alas I found myself with four pounds of apples after a lovely fall day of plucking them from the trees. I saw this recipe and randomly decided to give it a shot....fabulous! I seriously don't like apple pie and this was delicious, everyone in my family loved it! Thanks for this fantastic surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Loved it! I added blueberries to the pie and it added a nice touch. Also, I added some brown sugar to the top in addition to the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
i cannot stand to rate recipes poorly...but...the apples were crunchy not soft. and i even cooked it a few minutes longer. i had to cover the apples after the first 15 minutes as they started browning on top. i did like the way that the pie was firm to slice and presented neatly. the flavor was ok. but the crunchiness of the apples, not so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was an excellent pie... different, but soooo good! Family ate it up! The sour cream mixture seems very runny when you pour it in the pie shell, but bakes up to have the texture and consistency of baked custard, but with a distinct sweet creamy taste. I used a deep-dish 9" pieplate, and was glad I did, as this made a big pie. I followed the recipe except for adding about 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans and an additional tablespoon of butter to the topping mixture. I used about 3 1/2 cups of chopped fuji apples, I did not have any pie apples on hand, I would recommend good tart pie apples for this recipe. I also put the pie back in the oven for an additional 10 minutes at 400 degrees to brown the topping some more, I imagine you could put the topping on at the start of baking, or at least for the last 30 minutes, to get it nice and crisp. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Loved the creamy and delicate inside, mmmm, It's a dream come true. However, next time i'll skip the topping, don't know why but i have a dislike for toppings... Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This pie has turned out delicious everytime I have made it. Its a great change to the traditional apple pie, creamy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I don't even like apple pie...but love this apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eleanor, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was so amazing! I added a little cinnamon to the apple mixture and put the crumb topping on first thing when I put it in the oven. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This pie was delicious! Everyone was surprised when I told them it had sour cream in it. I was out of nutmeg, so I used cardamom and I added a little cinnimon to the apples. I used 1 1/2 giant Gravenstein apples (I think that's what they were, I picked them off an unknown tree), they cooked wonderfully. I put the pie under the broiler for 2 minutes to brown the top a little more. Thanks for sharing the great recipe, Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States