Sour Cream Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This will be the third Thanksgiving that I have made this pie. Everyone loved it the first year and I know get requests for it. I always refridgerate this pie and it's great right out of the fridge with left-overs. Thanks!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
If you ever have a hankering for sour cream apple pie, make this one. I had never made one before, but this turned out so good and was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This recipe made a really tastey pie. It did, however, make a big mess in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
So, So good! No one could guess what the filling was made of. I made it for my classes, and they loved it! Try yor favorite crumb topping on top - the one in this recipe is not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
It's really good...creamy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. A nice, fun, different way to prepare an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Totally YUMMY! I had never heard of using sour cream in a pie, apparently I'm the only one ;), so I just had to try it. WOW!! Very easy, too. Thanks Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Just like my mom used to make and so easy! I could hardly believe there wasn't more to it! All the taste testers loved it. I used 4 medium sized granny smith apples, about 5 cups worth and would probably use more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Another great recipe from Eleanor!You've outdone yourself this time Ms.Johnson! This pie was to die for!The crunchy cinnamon crumble topping was excellent. I used 3 granny smith apples diced thinly, which was slightly more than 3 cups. I was a tad surpised that the apples were somewhat crunchy in spite of the 10 minute extra baking time. Nonetheless,the filling was superb and not too sweet. I would like to caution those who are searching for a strong sour cream flavor, this probably isn't for you. The strong sour cream flavor I was looking for was not there.Perhaps the topping overpowered the sour cream flavor....but it truly enhanced the filling flavors nonetheless. This pie is a unique and excitingly outstanding new dessert that I will make again and again, especially for dinner guests,as the presentation is very beautiful as well.Thanks Eleanor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This was simple to make and delicious. I would make it again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I loved this pie! it's a nice change from the traditional apple pies that I make all the time, and my guests loved it. I will surely make it lots more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States