Sour Cream Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I won an apple baking contest at work with this recipe! The only thing I changed was I baked it in a gingerbread crust. It was very good and I'm making it for Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Another great recipe from Eleanor!You've outdone yourself this time Ms.Johnson! This pie was to die for!The crunchy cinnamon crumble topping was excellent. I used 3 granny smith apples diced thinly, which was slightly more than 3 cups. I was a tad surpised that the apples were somewhat crunchy in spite of the 10 minute extra baking time. Nonetheless,the filling was superb and not too sweet. I would like to caution those who are searching for a strong sour cream flavor, this probably isn't for you. The strong sour cream flavor I was looking for was not there.Perhaps the topping overpowered the sour cream flavor....but it truly enhanced the filling flavors nonetheless. This pie is a unique and excitingly outstanding new dessert that I will make again and again, especially for dinner guests,as the presentation is very beautiful as well.Thanks Eleanor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was my first attempt at making a pie, and it turned out great!! One of the best Apple pies I've tasted and my husband agreed. I changed a few things. I increased the sugar to 1 C. and used half brown sugar and half white. I also excluded the nutmeg and added 1 1/2 tblsp of cinnamon instead. I also coated the apple with about 1/4 c white sugar and 2 teas. of cinnamon before mixing them in the sour cream mixture. For the topping I double the amount of butter called for. Next time I will try adding a little allspice and cloves. Will make this again often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was an excellent pie... different, but soooo good! Family ate it up! The sour cream mixture seems very runny when you pour it in the pie shell, but bakes up to have the texture and consistency of baked custard, but with a distinct sweet creamy taste. I used a deep-dish 9" pieplate, and was glad I did, as this made a big pie. I followed the recipe except for adding about 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans and an additional tablespoon of butter to the topping mixture. I used about 3 1/2 cups of chopped fuji apples, I did not have any pie apples on hand, I would recommend good tart pie apples for this recipe. I also put the pie back in the oven for an additional 10 minutes at 400 degrees to brown the topping some more, I imagine you could put the topping on at the start of baking, or at least for the last 30 minutes, to get it nice and crisp. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This recipe was very easy and tasted great! I will definitely make it again. I suggest doubling the butter to 4 tablespoons on the topping. This helps give it a clumpier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Delicious pie! I have made this twice and the second time, I added more apple - I used about 3 large spartan apples. I was able to reduce the fat and sugar content by: using fat free sour cream, and splenda with the apples. I still used real sugar for the topping and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
It's really good...creamy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. A nice, fun, different way to prepare an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Just like my mom used to make and so easy! I could hardly believe there wasn't more to it! All the taste testers loved it. I used 4 medium sized granny smith apples, about 5 cups worth and would probably use more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
AWESOME!! I'd been searching for a recipe close enough to a family-favorite served at a popular pie chain. I just added six oz of fresh blueberries and chilled before serving (helped it set a bit). It was a total hit all throughout the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I loved it. My spouse wanted me to learn how to make this dish, and the idea of sour cream and apples didn't sound very appealing to me. But this recipe has me devouring this pie piece after piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Westport Point, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States