Sour Cream Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I loved it. My spouse wanted me to learn how to make this dish, and the idea of sour cream and apples didn't sound very appealing to me. But this recipe has me devouring this pie piece after piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Westport Point, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I always thought my mother's apple pie was the best, until I tried this. Superb. Added an extra cup of apples though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My husband is more of cherry pie fan, but he even requested that I make this one again!! Yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I love this recipe! It is not too sweet which is important too me. I added more cinnamon than called for by putting it into the batter with the apples as well as sprinkling it on top. Other than that, no changes. This is one of the best pies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is the second apple pie I have made from this site. The first being "crumb apple pie". I personally don't care for this pie and would not make it again. It does not have that typical apple pie flavor and 'gravy' as a normal apple pie due to the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was really delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CMDMD
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I've made a lot of pies, but this is seriously the BEST pie I've ever made. Five stars!! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
AWESOME!! I'd been searching for a recipe close enough to a family-favorite served at a popular pie chain. I just added six oz of fresh blueberries and chilled before serving (helped it set a bit). It was a total hit all throughout the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was pretty easy to make and tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This pie was fantastic, and got rave reviews from all who got to share it! I was not sure about the "chopped" apples, but it worked great. I used fresh ground nutmeg, which I think adds a lot more flavor to anything you use it in. I also used a 10" pie plate, used 4 cups of apples, and added a little more flour to make up the difference in the thickening agent. It was perfect! Thank you for a great recipe that I will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States