Sour Cream Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made it exactly per the instructions. Mixed red and green apples. Served it at a dinner party and it got rave reviews from my guests. This one is a keeper and I will be making it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Wow! This pie is the bomb! I did follow some of the recommendations in the reviews 1) added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the apples. 2) increased sugar to 1 cup (1/2 cup white 1/2 cup brown). 4) sliced apples instead of chopped 3) Baking time: increased the first part to 40 minutes. 4) added pecans to the crumble topping because husband loves pecans. This has taken the place of my grandmothers dutch apple pie recipe and I never thought that would be replaced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious dessert, easy to make, and family/kids loved it! Make sure you bake pie FIRST, then add topping at the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My hubby says this is the best apple pie I have ever made! I have gotten lazy and no longer make my own crusts and the boughten ones are smaller so I doubled the recipe (being rather generous with the apples) and put in 3 shells. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Best apple pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
this was great exactly as written. I didn't peel apples and no one could tell. (less work for me) I mixed diced apples with sugar, nutmeg before mixing with sour cream. next time I'm going to add 1/2tsp. cinnamon only because I like. but a really great, easy recipe. thanks JJohn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very yummy and easy to make. I added a little extra nutmeg because I love that fall flavor. I also added coconut flakes because my sweetie loves coconut. It also didn't take as long to cook as it suggested so test the apple yourself to see when it's ready for you to add the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I love this recipe. It's a huge hit in my family, I'm required to take it to all the holiday get-togethers. Like any good cook I changed a few things, I added an extra tablespoon of flour and 1/2 cup of apples. I used an entirely different topping, 1/2 butter, 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 flour & 1/2 pecans. I think the pecans add a lot to this wonderful pie. I also extended the cook time 25 minutes at 400 degrees and 30 minutes at 350. I put the topping on in the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Not bad. My boyfriend liked it, although he said "The filling looks like cat food." It didn't stop us too much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
MMMMMMM good!! this pie was just like marie calenders sour cream apple pie!! so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States