Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was so easy to make. I had some Gala Apples to use up, so I thought the sour cream would balance out the sweetness of the apples. Boy was I right! Turned out deliciously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making Sour Cream Apple Pie for several years & I love it! It tastes great warm or cold but I prefer it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious, a nice variation on traditional apple pie, especially when there's no ice cream on hand. I increased the amount of apples for a deeper dish pie, as well as the baking time. It was devoured in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Really loved it. Decided to do this after so many years of only knowing how to make pumpkin cheese cake for the holidays and I wanted to make a very non-traditional apple pie.....I increased the butter for the topping, by a teaspoon or so....other than that just really delicious and wholesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolanozz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yummy! Similar to Marie Calendar's sour cream apple pie, but the sour cream is mixed with the apples instead of layering the top. I used low fat vanilla yogurt, doubled the apples and covered the crust with foil until the last 30 minutes of baking. I used brown sugar and smart balance for topping. Definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very different kind of apple pie recipe, but my family loved it!! I didn't mention the sour cream part because my family is not very fond of it, but after tasting it I broke the news to them and they were in disbelief LoL I loved that this was a simple recipe.. I already had everything except for the sour cream.. The only thing I would do differently, is maybe added more apples next time.. Other than that, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have made dozens of apple pies and this is the most memorable by far. I used the $2000 Pie Crust recipe from this site for the bottom. It was the first tim I've tried a crust with an egg (I usually use the recipe in my trusty Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook for a basic pie crust). I had some issues with it falling apart, but I was able to piece it together and boy, was it worth it. It was the richest, most delicious apple pie I've ever tasted. I did use more than two cups of apples, probably more like 4 or 5. I am not afraid of raw egg (most of the time), especially when it could mean the difference between a good pie and a great pie, so I tasted the filling before baking and knew immediately I was in for real treat. Thank you so much for this recipe! One more note: Be sure to cover the edges of the pie with aluminum foil during the first half of cooking time so the crust doesn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was the most awesome pie! I got so many compliments, and requests for the recipe the first time I made t. I used half golden delicious and half granny smith. I used more than the 2 C of apples per pie, as I had a deep dish pie crust. I used closer to 3.5 to 4 C apples total per pie, but kept everything else the same. Not too sweet at all. This one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had this pie when my aunt made it for me as a child. I have been searching for the perfect recipe and this one reminds me of her pie. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
a little sweet, but so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra LaDow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States