Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very different kind of apple pie recipe, but my family loved it!! I didn't mention the sour cream part because my family is not very fond of it, but after tasting it I broke the news to them and they were in disbelief LoL I loved that this was a simple recipe.. I already had everything except for the sour cream.. The only thing I would do differently, is maybe added more apples next time.. Other than that, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have made dozens of apple pies and this is the most memorable by far. I used the $2000 Pie Crust recipe from this site for the bottom. It was the first tim I've tried a crust with an egg (I usually use the recipe in my trusty Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook for a basic pie crust). I had some issues with it falling apart, but I was able to piece it together and boy, was it worth it. It was the richest, most delicious apple pie I've ever tasted. I did use more than two cups of apples, probably more like 4 or 5. I am not afraid of raw egg (most of the time), especially when it could mean the difference between a good pie and a great pie, so I tasted the filling before baking and knew immediately I was in for real treat. Thank you so much for this recipe! One more note: Be sure to cover the edges of the pie with aluminum foil during the first half of cooking time so the crust doesn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was the most awesome pie! I got so many compliments, and requests for the recipe the first time I made t. I used half golden delicious and half granny smith. I used more than the 2 C of apples per pie, as I had a deep dish pie crust. I used closer to 3.5 to 4 C apples total per pie, but kept everything else the same. Not too sweet at all. This one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had this pie when my aunt made it for me as a child. I have been searching for the perfect recipe and this one reminds me of her pie. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
a little sweet, but so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraLaDow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! It's was everyones favorite pie. I did use about double the apples from what the recipe called for. I just didn't think two cups was enough. Wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made this pie for the first time for Thanksgiving. I was very intrigued by all of the 4 star reviews and professions of love for this pie...but I can't say the same. I made the pie exactly as the recipie states, the only change I made was to add some cinnamon & nutmeg to the filling as it seemed rather bland as written. The pie wasn't bad...it just didn't strike me as all that special. Tasty, but not to-die-for. Maybe sometime I'll give it a try again, but with a dutch apple type of crumble topping. I didn't care for the topping in this recipie as I found it got rather soggy on the second day. I might really enjoy the creamy filling with a more sturdy, crunchy topping. It was fun to give this a try, though. I've never made an apple pie like this before. Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My family loved this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated and the end results were perfect - a perfect blend of sweet and tart. This has to be my all time favorate apple pie recipe I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I had a bunch of granny smith apples I needed to use and I found this recipe. This was amazing! (And I made it EXACTLY the way the recipe specifies.) I served it to my family and while apple pie is something we all like, it has never been at the top of our pie favorites...this is no longer true. I made it a week ago and I still am getting comments/requests for more. Oh and the best thing of all--my husband of 23 years complimented my cooking without ANY reference to his mother's. YAY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States