Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This pie is actually one of the best pies I have ever made. I chopped the apples a little bit bigger than I have before because I feel you don't get quite a bite if you chop them so small. I love the topping but I was just told it would be better if all the sugar was off. Eh, I don't think so. Have fun eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very good. I did add about an extra cup of apples ( 2 cups just did not look like enough..) and I think I could have even added more. Added almonds to the topping as other posters suggested- very good! WIll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It is the perfect pie for Thanksgiving dinner, along with the traditional pumpkin pie. This recipe will be made for generations in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
We liked this fine, but we didn't love it. I followed recipe exactly and thought the end result was a little bland, not quite like an apple pie but didn't have much of a sour cream flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This pie was AMAZING. It was definitely a little juicy, but also crunchy and so so good. We customized a bit and added some melted caramel drizzled on top for the last five minutes it was in the oven. If you do this you will thank yourself. This pie was phenomenal. Careful on the amount of liquid you use so it doesn't get too runny, but all in all this pie was HEAVENLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is one of my favorite pie recipes. Since I just cannot seem to follow a recipe as written I had to change this one up too. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, added sliced almonds to the topping and subbed half of the sugar in the topping with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Wonderful pie! I used brown sugar in the crumble topping, it gave it a little carmel yumminess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was so good! It came out perfectly. I wouldn't change a thing. It is my new favorite apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Amazing pie. First pie I EVER made by myself! I have now made it twice. The second time, I realized too late that I didn't have sour cream, so I used a container of vanilla yogurt and a dash of French Vanilla coffee mate, and I always put lots of extra cinnamon in my mix. It came out amazing! I also use mostly brown sugar in this recipe instead of white, especially for the topping, and let it bake an extra 20 minutes. The result is a nice, crispy top and perfectly tender apples underneath. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The pie was decent but I honestly don't see how it is prize winning. Flavor was quite bland and the texture was just as dull. Not terrible though. I would recommend just making regular apple pie or my personal favorite Grandme's Apple Crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States