Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Using the suggestion of Breakstone Sour Cream and doubling topping, I have been making this recipe for years. People beg for me to make it and has become a holiday tradition around here. Simple to make, just watch your cook times. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made this last year and will make it again this year. It's soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made some small changes but will have to make several more changes in the future if I make this again; I added Cinnamon to the filling & upped the Cinnamon in the topping + the amount of Apples used as my mother always taught me to heap the apples so that your pie doesn't look flat after it settles (my pie was slightly above pie plate level this morning and looked beautiful, it was baked in a 10" glass pie plate). I followed the advice of chilling the pie before eating, so I refrigerated it overnight. I used tart firm baking Apples, and baked about 20 minutes longer than the direction stated, my apples were cooked through but retained their shape and had a slight bite to them which I prefer. The Sour Cream filling had a lovely texture, creamy with a slight custard consistency, however all I tasted was sour cream and would like to have some additional flavors as it muted the delicious flavor of the apples. I think I will try this again, but I will use about 8 apples (I used 10), thinly sliced, and one with a better balance of sweet/tart. I will change white sugar to Brown sugar in filling and topping + double the topping. To the filling I am going to add a bit more salt, vanilla, some nutmeg, a bit of cloves + more cinnamon (maybe a bit of Bourbon). I will also "marinate" my apples in a bit of sugar, melted butter & spices before adding to filling. The pie was not bad, and I liked the Sour cream flavor but I just need more complexity/flavor for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
My mom was making this when I was a kid and I don't dare come to Thanksgiving without it. It's great with peaches too! I also decreased the sugar and add 2 teaspoons of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tonyfrancois
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very very delicious! Crumble on top...deliciosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My son makes me make this for every family holiday Easter, Christmas and Thanksgiving. Its simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My family really enjoyed this pie and so did I. I added an extra cup of apples and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I thought this sounded like a weird combination, but this is AMAZING!!! It tastes SOOO good!! It's a hit with a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Best pie I have ever tried and made,except for when I substitute the apples for blue berries. Even frozen blueberries are really good. I wasn't sure about the crisp top with blue berries but I and other really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States