Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made some small changes but will have to make several more changes in the future if I make this again; I added Cinnamon to the filling & upped the Cinnamon in the topping + the amount of Apples used as my mother always taught me to heap the apples so that your pie doesn't look flat after it settles (my pie was slightly above pie plate level this morning and looked beautiful, it was baked in a 10" glass pie plate). I followed the advice of chilling the pie before eating, so I refrigerated it overnight. I used tart firm baking Apples, and baked about 20 minutes longer than the direction stated, my apples were cooked through but retained their shape and had a slight bite to them which I prefer. The Sour Cream filling had a lovely texture, creamy with a slight custard consistency, however all I tasted was sour cream and would like to have some additional flavors as it muted the delicious flavor of the apples. I think I will try this again, but I will use about 8 apples (I used 10), thinly sliced, and one with a better balance of sweet/tart. I will change white sugar to Brown sugar in filling and topping + double the topping. To the filling I am going to add a bit more salt, vanilla, some nutmeg, a bit of cloves + more cinnamon (maybe a bit of Bourbon). I will also "marinate" my apples in a bit of sugar, melted butter & spices before adding to filling. The pie was not bad, and I liked the Sour cream flavor but I just need more complexity/flavor for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
My mom was making this when I was a kid and I don't dare come to Thanksgiving without it. It's great with peaches too! I also decreased the sugar and add 2 teaspoons of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tonyfrancois
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very very delicious! Crumble on top...deliciosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My son makes me make this for every family holiday Easter, Christmas and Thanksgiving. Its simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My family really enjoyed this pie and so did I. I added an extra cup of apples and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I thought this sounded like a weird combination, but this is AMAZING!!! It tastes SOOO good!! It's a hit with a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Best pie I have ever tried and made,except for when I substitute the apples for blue berries. Even frozen blueberries are really good. I wasn't sure about the crisp top with blue berries but I and other really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
As advised we did not make the mistake of trying this warm... That being said this pie is unlike any apple pie I have ever eaten. It took me a bit to get over the texture. It is good if you are looking to get away from the normal apple pie. My husband wasnt immediatly crazy about it either but this pie kinda grows on you by slice 2 or 3...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
WOW! Made it as healthy as possible by using Splenda instead of sugar, egg-beaters for the eggs,a mixture of splenda and brown sugar splenda for the topping and a quality fat-free sour cream. Used 1 and a half times the ingredients for the filling and 2-granny smith and 1-golden delicious apples. Easy to make and will definitely make this a holiday favorite. Bob H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States