Sour Cherry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Is it just me, or am I the only one that had to double the milk in order to go from dough to batter?? The first time I made this, it turned out very gummy. Is this normal?? Did I use the wrong size pan, or over mix the batter? Also, because we don't normally use sugar in the house, the second time I made this I skipped the sugar in the cherries and halved the sugar in the batter as it was waaaaaay too sweet the first time around. I also used whole wheat flour. I also mixed the cherries into the batter because the first time, the cherries on top were the best part and the rest was *meh*. The second cake is currently in the oven. Excited to see (and taste) the result! Super easy recipe all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I halved the sugar in the batter and cherries and it was sweet enough for us, used melted butter for the oil, reduced baking powder to 2 tsps and omitted the salt. I found this too thin, next time I would double or bake in a 9x9 pan instead of a 9x13. Tasted good and was enjoyed with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Really easy and yummy! I substituted coconut oil for the veg oil, but otherwise followed recipe exactly as outlined. I made it with fresh sour cherries and used a strong straw to push the pits out, which worked great. This recipe would work great with other fruits/berries as well. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was good and the cake was light. I halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan, though still cooked it for the full 30 minutes. I eyeballed the amount of cherries until the top was covered and I thought that worked well. The cake wasn't what I think of when I hear "pudding cake", but good nonetheless. Served with vanilla ice cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was really good. It seemed to be lacking a little something to put it into the excellent category. I'm sure whipped cream or ice cream would give it more umph, but I'm rating it on it's own. I found it hard to spread in the pan, so I Pammed my spatula multiple times while spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe that my family has been making for years and we all love it. We eat it warm with a little milk and a sprinkle of sugar and it is SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was delicious! The cake is super moist and flavorful and the almond extract was a great touch with the cherries! Adding this to my recipe blog! www.adventures-in-food.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This cake reminds me of a cobbler. It is much easier to make than cherry pie, but it still gives you that great tangy sour cherry flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
OMG!! Absolutely delicious. Just made it today, my husband and I have already eaten a third of it. Picked the cherries this morning and decided I was going to make this. I used whipped cream but would love to have had the ice cream. Next time. I had 4 cups of cherries and that worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States