Sour Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Best tasting and most beautiful pie I've ever made (and I've made a lot in my 66 years). I made it exactly like the recipe except that I brushed the top with milk and sprinkled sugar over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Excellent pie!! I only used one cup of sugar and the cherries were picked from my back yard. I will be using this recipe again and was so simple to make. It's a keeper in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was my first attempt at a Cherry Pie, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect (never used canned fruit and/or tapioca before). Used homemade crust - was a little concerned about the amount of liquid that developed after adding sugar, so I panicked and scooped out about 1 cup of liquid - - - aside from that, taste was great. Appearance of canned cherries not that wonderful, but that must be why some people add red food coloring (?) In any event, will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
SO DELICIOUS! I used 6 c frozen tart cherries (no need to defrost-use them frozen) instead of canned. Instead of all sugar, used 3/4 c sugar and 3/4 c Splenda granular (this is the Splenda that is cup for cup equivalent of sugar). No need to add extra water or liquid. Suggestion: If you have time, mix all pie ingredients together in a bowl and leave on the counter for about 10 minutes to let the cherries thaw slightly and absorb tapioca before you bake. I always do this when baking any type of fruit pie and using tapioca, and it seems to produce better/tastier pies. If you don't have time, charge ahead and get baking! My husband called for his mother and rolled his eyes back in his head over this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Simple and delicious! And, just as the submitter states you CAN do this in less than 10 minutes. It's the perfect recipe if you're in a hurry or you need to make a lot of pies. I baked mine in a glass dish with a baking sheet underneath to catch the excess drippings. It baked up nice and tasted great - especially with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for a great recipe Lisawas! And, thanks to everyone at AR for letting my niece Kailey and I participate in the President's Pie Challenge for the Thanksgiving webcast! We had a great time! As my niece put it, one of the best parts was getting to eat the pie at the end!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe is so easy. I added a little red food coloring and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This "basic" recipe was rated by our entire family (cherry pie snobs) best ever experience with the following changes: We made our own butter-based pie crust; instead of almond extract we used about 1 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice. Instead of canned cherries, we used 5 cups fresh pitted tart (drained) cherries from our tree; we increased the sugar to about 2-1/2 cups, and let the mixture sit over 15 minutes to soften the tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wow, this was great! I'd never tried tapioca in a pie before but it made for a nice firm pie (when cooled). The tapioca beads were visible but I didn't notice a texture issue (but I like tapioca). Sour cherries weren't available in a can, so I used 6 c. of frozen "pie cherries" and tasted for sweetness. We gave the filling 15 minutes to rest before we put it into the crust&baking. Mm, be sure to try this! Thanks Lisawas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe as a stepping off point for making a "sugar-free" version. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and it came out fine! I also substituted a 12 oz. bag of frozen unsweetened Sweet Dark Cherries for one of the cans of sour cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
1 of the most idiot proof recipes I've ever seen. Very tasty, and great consistency as long as you don't mind the texture of the tapioca pearls (but you can totally grind those down anyway if you like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States