Sour Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sam34
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was my first cherry pie and it was perfect! The tapioca was an easy no stove top way to make the filling and it didn't run when I cut it. I would however add a few squeezes of lemon juice. I make a blueberry pie that uses tapioca, almond extract and lemon and I like the extra tartness that comes from the lemon. Will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Excellent. The almond is just right and not a bit overpowering. I used traditional tapioca and about 4 cups frozen tart cherries and had to increase the baking time a bit to get it to set, but it worked out great (I used foil to protect the crimping). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My husband picked the cherries in the AM, & in 1hr that evening, the pie was made and cooling on the stove.(Not sure how long it took to pit the cherries though! I used about 5- 51/2 cups of fresh cherries instead of the canned ones.) This was my first sour cherry pie, and I made if for my husband for Father's Day. I also used whipped cream for a topping instead of ice cream. This Sour Cherry Pie hit a home run for my hubby and family! I have enough cherries to make another one. Can you say yum?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Best cherry pie recipe I've ever used. I omitted the almond extract because I am allergic to nuts but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
1 of the most idiot proof recipes I've ever seen. Very tasty, and great consistency as long as you don't mind the texture of the tapioca pearls (but you can totally grind those down anyway if you like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe as a stepping off point for making a "sugar-free" version. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and it came out fine! I also substituted a 12 oz. bag of frozen unsweetened Sweet Dark Cherries for one of the cans of sour cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wow, this was great! I'd never tried tapioca in a pie before but it made for a nice firm pie (when cooled). The tapioca beads were visible but I didn't notice a texture issue (but I like tapioca). Sour cherries weren't available in a can, so I used 6 c. of frozen "pie cherries" and tasted for sweetness. We gave the filling 15 minutes to rest before we put it into the crust&baking. Mm, be sure to try this! Thanks Lisawas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This "basic" recipe was rated by our entire family (cherry pie snobs) best ever experience with the following changes: We made our own butter-based pie crust; instead of almond extract we used about 1 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice. Instead of canned cherries, we used 5 cups fresh pitted tart (drained) cherries from our tree; we increased the sugar to about 2-1/2 cups, and let the mixture sit over 15 minutes to soften the tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe is so easy. I added a little red food coloring and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Simple and delicious! And, just as the submitter states you CAN do this in less than 10 minutes. It's the perfect recipe if you're in a hurry or you need to make a lot of pies. I baked mine in a glass dish with a baking sheet underneath to catch the excess drippings. It baked up nice and tasted great - especially with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for a great recipe Lisawas! And, thanks to everyone at AR for letting my niece Kailey and I participate in the President's Pie Challenge for the Thanksgiving webcast! We had a great time! As my niece put it, one of the best parts was getting to eat the pie at the end!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States