Sour Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used fresh tart cherries, but I live in Michigan. My grandma always swore the tapioca made all the difference. I also use a vinegar recipe crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Excellent pie and so easy to make. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
For a long time, I have been wanting to taste a sour cherry pie as I love anything with a bit of a sour taste, but sour cherries were never available locally. Then recently, I discovered a place where I could finally get these. I found this recipe and made it over the Christmas holidays. I was extremely disappointed, as it was so sweet that I could not believe it was called a sour cherry pie. So this week, I decided to try it again, but to slightly change the ingredients to suit my taste. I therefore only used 1c of sugar, and added a bit of lemon juice to the filling. For the pie crust, I tried the Hot Water Pie Crust II from this website, which was fantastic! This time, the pie came out just like I had always imagined it! I had to force myself to take it to the function for which I had made it! Because it was a new recipe, I cut a small corner piece to taste - wow! Fantastic recipe, thank you for sharing it! I will soon be making it for myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but didn't think this was a very good pie at all. Almost every store-bought/restaurant cherry pie I've ever had was better. I will never make it again. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I don't think u can make an easier or better tasting cherry pie!!!!! my family is in love with this pie!!! o so r my neighbors!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have made this pie for years with a little twist. I use minute tapioca and I use an oatmeal, brown sugar, butter topping. It has been my husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I ALWAYS use this recipe. I should have rated it long ago. I do have some modifications though. I add a bit more tapioca, let the mixture sit for 15 minutes then drain most of the water.This way if you lose some of the tapioca you have the extra as backup. I also use a 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I will never make another recipe!! Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristinaW
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
DELICIOUS cherry pie! I used 5 cups of frozen sour cherries which tasted so much fresher than canned! I also cooked the filling on the stove top and let it cool prior to filling the pie to ensure the filling set up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States