Soundview Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
My mouth is still burning from the "heat" of this recipe..but I could not stop eating it! I used imitation crabmeat and definitely wasn't a pound, so that is probably why it was so spicy. I ended up doubling the sour cream and mayo to tone down the flavor. Next time I will halve the cayenne pepper, and go from there. What a great taste, though. Can't wait to serve to our friends. Thanks, HEP303!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
My husband and I found this recipe to have a light lemony flavor followed by a bit of spicy, which we love. Pulling the meat out of the fresh cooked crab took most of the prep time otherwise it came together quite quickly. We served it with vegatable crackers. It was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
The lemon zest and fresh lemon juice make this salad sing out loud. The dill adds an interesting twist, and the cayenne pepper, a very pleasing zip. My only suggestion is for those that don't like a dry mixture. As written, this recipe comes out rather dry. Those that like more moisture in the mix should add more of the wet ingredients. I've had many crab salads through the years and this is one of the most tasty and interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Used to stuff avocados. Yummy! Way better than regular crab salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This was the first time that I made this recipe, and it was for a Mother-Daughter salad luncheon at my church. I made it a day before I needed the salad so that the flavors would all have a change to blend together. I had to add an additional tablesppon each of the sour cream and mayonnaise because the salad wasn't moist enough for my liking. Instead of the one pound of shredded crab I used two pouches of imitation crab meat, 7 ounces in each pouch. I minced the meat in my food processor so that I could easily transfer a small amount of the salad into individual phyllo mini-tart shells, using the bigger scoop of my melon baller. I placed these little tarts on white paper doilies on top of a cobalt blue tray and it was a lovely plate for the table. I'm figuring it was a success because there was not one single piece leftover to bring back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I left out the sour cream, relish, parsley, cayenne pepper, paprika and lemon zest. I added garlic powder, and emeril's bayou blast, and cheddar cheese into the crab salad...absolutely delish when I used it on top of some toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was just ok for me. I used fresh crabmeat and it just seemed dry. I tried adding more mayo and sour cream, but then it took away from the flavors. If I made it again, I would definitely have to play with the ingredients a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I stopped adding crab to the sauce mix when it seemed like it was going to get too dry...and I ended up only using about 1/2 pound. Next time I would cut the dill and cayenne in half since they stood out and detracted, a bit, from the overall flavor. We really liked the recipe, it just needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I served this on a bed of lettuce with some red bell pepper and peas. My boyfriend doesn't really like crab, but couldn't stop raving about this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was pretty good, but I'm still searching for my perfect crab salad recipe. One thing I did really like was that the amount of dressing was light compared to the amount of crab as I like to be able to taste the crab itself and not all dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Booschmoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States