Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Excellent recipe! I took off one star only because I've consistently found that the cooking time it's too short. To get the chicken cooked to the point that I'm comfortable serving it to my kids, it needs to a full hour at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I agree with the people who called it a little bland. That is not a problem. I added more spices: lemon pepper and garlic to the flour. I also soaked the chicken in butter-milk before dredging in the flour mixture. For the gravy rue: the flavor is in the celery leaves, not the stalks. I like the fact that the recipe is so forgiving and I can add my own flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Bugg Shadrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
A great recipe served with mashed potatoes, some biscuits and maybe sweet corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Want to impress your friends? Throw this down and they'll swear you were raised in the South! We had a soul food cook off at work and us white guys took home the gold. Never had so many sisters coming to me for tips in my life. Don't be afraid to tweak this one to your tastes. This is very durable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This was so good! I could eat this gravy with the rice like soup! YUM! I, unfortunately, had to use chicken breast because it was all I had. It was still really great, but I could imagine it would taste better with the whole chicken. It was very very easy to make (though there is a lot of prep work with the chopping). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipe was delicious and flavourful. My only complaint is that the bit of batter got kind of soggy after simmering in the gravy. Otherwise it was great! I used boneless, skinless chicken breast, as that's what I had on hand and it turned out moist and tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This recipe is both simple and delicious. Prepared it just like the recipe said, only difference being at the end I blended the liquid and veg into a nice, thick gravy to go over the rice. Kids and wife said they could taste the cayenne, but I couldn't... either way, everyone liked it. The recipe made a LOT of gravy, so this might be something you make the night before you make something you need some good gravy to go with it. Next time instead of rice, we're gonna do it over fresh, hot biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Florida Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Simply delicious! I changed it up a bit since I didn't want to run to the store for cayenne and celery. I substituted red pepper flakes for cayenne and a can of French cut green beans for celery. I also added some fresh spinach to the top and let it simmer the last 5 minutes. I was heavy handed with the butter and flour. My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Just adjust the seasonings to your taste and this recipe is great! Thanks so much for adding to my dinner menu. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
It's true. You will need to add your own seasoning to this recipe. If you're a a truly beginning cook, don't rely on your chicken to be done in 30 minutes like the recipe says. I left my chicken on for 1 1/2 - 2 hours because I like my chicken to fall off the bone. Don't worry about the 3 cups of onions. This is an onion gravy and they will dissolve. The flavor was so, so, good! I also picked up the butter flavor in the gravy which I really enjoyed. I followed the recipe to the tee, and added additional seasonings to my taste. Make sure you like the flavor of the (soon to be) gravy before you add the chicken to it. That's the key. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbatterypark
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States