Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Totally FANTASTIC! The only change I made was to reduce the onions to 1 cup. My family loved it!My 7 yr. old came back twice for more rice, chicken & carrots (she loves carrots). This will definately be a recipe we will use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olney, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
After watching Anita Baker prepare her Smothered Chicken on Oprah, I decided to try hers. It was very bland. So I searched and found this recipe. Just what I was looking for! Several years ago I ate a similar dish and haven't been able to find the recipe until now. Thought 3 cups of onion would be too much, but I gave it a try and that amount was fine. Thanks so much for the recipe!! Flavorful, old-fashioned comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
It was delicious! Next time I might use boneless chicken breasts, I don't like working with whole chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really good! I used just over a pound of chicken breasts cut into strips and went light on the salt, but kept everything else the same. For whatever reason, it took me a lot longer to cook than the time said, but it was worth it in the end. However, I think this would be better with mashed potatoes instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
A fantastic recipe. The only thing I altered was the amount of salt and cayenne, to suit my own tastes. Otherwise, everyone loved it. I served it with brown rice and green beans. **Update: I've made this many times, and it's versatile as far as the vegetables. Today I put a chopped turnip and some mushrooms in it, just to increase its nutritional value. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Excellent! I didn't have carrots or celery so I used a can of Veg-All. This was so good, even my 2 year old ate it (he doesn't eat anything!). So creamy and flavorful and the cayenne pepper gave it just the perfect kick. Thanks for this one, it will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Delicious! Wonderful flavor! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Being from Houston myself I understand. Needed a recipe for 12 whole quail. This came out wonderful served with brown rice cooked in chicken broth and green beans. Two thumbs up from my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I made this for dinner (just for my husband and myself, thought it might be to hot for the kids) and it was wonderful. Kind of like a Pot Pie filling with a spicy flair over rice. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States