Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I just don't get all these people who insist on using boneless, skinless chicken breasts for everything. A dish like this screams out for bone-in, skin-on chicken. If you're afraid of a whole chicken, buy an already cut up chicken. The skinless, boneless breast is the driest, most bland of all the cuts of chicken. I would never use it for a dish like this, which was wonderful, by the way. I just increased the spices a tad, and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
After watching Anita Baker prepare her Smothered Chicken on Oprah, I decided to try hers. It was very bland. So I searched and found this recipe. Just what I was looking for! Several years ago I ate a similar dish and haven't been able to find the recipe until now. Thought 3 cups of onion would be too much, but I gave it a try and that amount was fine. Thanks so much for the recipe!! Flavorful, old-fashioned comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is one of our absolute favorite recipes. I make it exactly as instructed and it has become the ultimate Wow! meal to make for company or family gatherings. It's easy, inexpensive and just melts together beautifully. I suggest serving with sweet yellow cornbread to really feel your southern roots. Thanks for a great recipe, Veronica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Hmmm, trying to think how I can help those that didn't quite get this recipe. 1.Unless you're used to cooking "soul" food, this aint no weeknight dish! I can whip it up quickly and have shortcuts, but don't attempt this on hump day if its your first time. 2. Smothered chicken is basically semi-fried chicken and pan gravy. If you can make decent fried chicken and a good pan gravy, put the two together and that's the gist of this dish. 3.To solve the soupy gravy problem, start with the rioux first: add the flour to the pan drippings and cook/stir constantly for about 5 minutes or so, then add the veggies to that for another 5 minutes. It will look a mess, but when you add the liquid and stir it good; your gravy will appear. Add about a cup of liquid at a time and stir between so its not too soupy. Then TASTE IT before you add the chicken. If it's bland, add more salt/pepper/garlic powder/dried thyme/cayenne or whatever till it tastes the way you want. THEN add the chicken. Hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really good! I used just over a pound of chicken breasts cut into strips and went light on the salt, but kept everything else the same. For whatever reason, it took me a lot longer to cook than the time said, but it was worth it in the end. However, I think this would be better with mashed potatoes instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This sounds great! I can't wait to try it! I'm 'reviewing' in response to the June 22, 2007, review which asked why people try to use boneless, skinless chicken breast in a recipe (especially this one) that calls for whole chicken, white and dark, including skin. Well, to each his/her own... Maybe some folks use chicken breasts for convenience. But maybe some use chicken breasts (and don't use the butter and make other modifications) because they've had quadruple heart bypass surgery or otherwise MUST maintain a certain diet. On the other hand, those who make major modifications to a recipe and then enter a low, critical review? Those folks are on my list!! Foul!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was absolutely delicious as written. It tasted like buttery chicken pot pie, without the pie or peas. Any skin-on bone-in chicken pieces will work great, so I used 8 drumsticks. After adding the broth, you should bring it to a boil, stir, add the chicken, bring to a boil again, and then reduce heat to low for simmering. Otherwise, the chicken will sap the heat out and you won't get a good simmer. I followed the recipe as written and after 30 minutes I still needed to bring it to a boil to cook the chicken and thicken the sauce. Another slight improvement is adding salt while the mirepoix cooks (the carrot, celery, and onion). Plus I used Tony's (creole seasoned salt) when flouring the chicken pieces. Thanks for a great comfort food recipe! It's absolutely the best thing on this site that I've been able to execute with ease. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Made this for my husband, because it's one of his favorite dishes. He LOVED it! The 3-year-old gave it a thumbs up also! I used 8 thighs instead of a whole chicken and slightly modified the recipe for somewhere between 4 and 8 servings. I also omitted the cayenne pepper. This was a great meal and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Made this last night with boneless chicken breasts, wow! Super favorful, chicken almost melts in your mouth! Just be watchful of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
A fantastic recipe. The only thing I altered was the amount of salt and cayenne, to suit my own tastes. Otherwise, everyone loved it. I served it with brown rice and green beans. **Update: I've made this many times, and it's versatile as far as the vegetables. Today I put a chopped turnip and some mushrooms in it, just to increase its nutritional value. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States