Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Totally FANTASTIC! The only change I made was to reduce the onions to 1 cup. My family loved it!My 7 yr. old came back twice for more rice, chicken & carrots (she loves carrots). This will definately be a recipe we will use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olney, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Excellent! I didn't have carrots or celery so I used a can of Veg-All. This was so good, even my 2 year old ate it (he doesn't eat anything!). So creamy and flavorful and the cayenne pepper gave it just the perfect kick. Thanks for this one, it will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really good! I used just over a pound of chicken breasts cut into strips and went light on the salt, but kept everything else the same. For whatever reason, it took me a lot longer to cook than the time said, but it was worth it in the end. However, I think this would be better with mashed potatoes instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is good, but it is a lot of work. I'm not sure that it is quite worth all the work it takes (and all the mess!). I followed the directions exactly, only adjusting the amount of cayenne pepper to my personal taste. I think next time I will try it with chicken breasts to save some time. It is a great recipe, nevertheless. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Delicious! Wonderful flavor! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Being from Houston myself I understand. Needed a recipe for 12 whole quail. This came out wonderful served with brown rice cooked in chicken broth and green beans. Two thumbs up from my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
After watching Anita Baker prepare her Smothered Chicken on Oprah, I decided to try hers. It was very bland. So I searched and found this recipe. Just what I was looking for! Several years ago I ate a similar dish and haven't been able to find the recipe until now. Thought 3 cups of onion would be too much, but I gave it a try and that amount was fine. Thanks so much for the recipe!! Flavorful, old-fashioned comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
It was delicious! Next time I might use boneless chicken breasts, I don't like working with whole chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I've made this twice and both times I didn't have all the ingredients, mostly vegetables and it still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States