Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
OMG!!! I loved this recipe!! I tried it with the whole bone in chicken (How can you eat soul food with boneless skinless chicken?. Everyone loved it. We will be eating this often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kara
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Cooked it exactly as the recipe calls for and my husband LOVED it! We had it with rice. It's almost a lighter version of a chicken pot pie and without all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
If you love soul food, you will love this dish. If you are like me, and not so crazy about soul food, you will still like this dish. I made this for my husband for father's day. He is crazy about gravy over fried meat. He said it tasted "good." In his limited use of adjectives, this actually means "outstanding!" The only thing I changed in the recipe was I used red onions instead of yellow. Even though not much dry spice is used, the combination of the celery, onions and garlic, really add a lot of flavor. I also believe browning the chicken in butter instead of oil adds a bit more saltiness to the meat. I had side dishes of lima beans cooked in chicken broth and fried okra. My hubby was in soul food heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Used Fryer Parts Chicken, 2 Small Onions, 3 Small Carrots, 2 Celery and 4 Cups Chicken Broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Pretty good - rich and creamy. Kind of like a chicken pot pie when you are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
this IS great...i have made this several time with all types of chicken...bone in...boneless...skinless...it dosent matter it is simply great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I just made this for Sunday dinner. Truly delicious and a wonderful change..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
this was realy good and flavorful, only took a short time and was very easy had it with mashed potatoes and green beans. Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very nice dish. My husband recommended serving it with waffles and mashed potatoes. This surprised me since he isn't a fan of chicken and waffles. We loved the gravy. I used chicken breast with bones and skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I wasn't sure about this, but it was getting late on a Sunday and I had to make something. All I had was chicken breasts so I cut them into long chunks and followed the recipe from there. Didn't have celery, and eliminated the cayenne pepper b'c we don't like spicy. OMG...THIS was the best recipe ever! I was still thinking about it the next day and couldn't wait for dinner to have the leftovers!! Really good comfort food. Thanks for a GREAT recipe! Will definitely be added to our rotating schedule of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States