Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
It was just ok. The family liked it and I think I will make it again just for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Really liked this recipe! Took a chance and made it for company, and everyone loved it! I did use the best parts of a whole cut up chicken, and served it with "smashed" redskin potatoes - yummy! Will save this recipe and make again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This dish came out great! The gravy did not come out as thick as I would have liked (I'll have to add a little more flour next time), but it tasted delicious none the less. Would definitely fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this last night! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbysmama323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. Tasted just like chicken noodle soup on a plate- we had it with rice and thought that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Good recipe! Being from the south its hard to get good soul food in the Midwest. This was great! However I did 86 the carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe. I like the simple yet perfect ingredients. Followed as written except for I used a red onion simply because I didn't have any other kind. I'm disappointed, however, not in the recipe, but in my lack of ability when it comes to browning. All the crust floated off in the gravy and I can't figure out what I am doing wrong (happens with other similar recipes)! Any expert advice would be appreciated! As for the recipe...it's a keeper for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
OMG!!! I loved this recipe!! I tried it with the whole bone in chicken (How can you eat soul food with boneless skinless chicken?. Everyone loved it. We will be eating this often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kara
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Cooked it exactly as the recipe calls for and my husband LOVED it! We had it with rice. It's almost a lighter version of a chicken pot pie and without all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
If you love soul food, you will love this dish. If you are like me, and not so crazy about soul food, you will still like this dish. I made this for my husband for father's day. He is crazy about gravy over fried meat. He said it tasted "good." In his limited use of adjectives, this actually means "outstanding!" The only thing I changed in the recipe was I used red onions instead of yellow. Even though not much dry spice is used, the combination of the celery, onions and garlic, really add a lot of flavor. I also believe browning the chicken in butter instead of oil adds a bit more saltiness to the meat. I had side dishes of lima beans cooked in chicken broth and fried okra. My hubby was in soul food heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States