Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!!! Thanks for posting.. will definetly be included in my menu..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was delicious! I used 5 huge skin-on chicken thighs, and I didn't have any cayenne, so I used a teaspoon of Browning to give it a Caribbean flavor--and it still turned out great! I will make it again with the listed ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GhettoGourmetGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
very tasty not hard to prepare, and had lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie55

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is amazing. My husband told me I better put this in my recipe box right now so I dont forget about it. I saw that some people had a hard time with the directions so this is what I did. I seasoned my flour with Tonys and left out the salt and pepper. I browned my chicken in the butter but did not drain it before I added the veggies. Then I added my flour 1 tbsp at a time then stir until it makes a paste then add chicken broth slowly 1/4 c at a time then add chicken and bring to a boil. Cook about 45 minutes. Also for those of you that dont like meat on the bone I would suggest buying split breasts and removing the breast and skin yourself and add the bons when you start the gravy that way you still get the flavor the bone gives off. It really does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Used yams instead of carrots, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was so good. We had it with rice and peas, and buttermilk cornbread. I think I was a bit heavy handed on the cayenne and the garlic was really fresh and the cloves were huge but we like spicey food so no foul there. I used bone in chicken pieces and as I dont like standing and stirring things I cooked in a moderate oven for an hour once everything was combined. It's on our roster for repeating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very yummy, taste wonderful, serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is absoultly the easiest and best chicken dish EVER! love it! so glad I have this recipie, didnt have to change or add anything. DeLiCiOuS1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Definately an amazing comfort food! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
We enjoyed this. My husband said it was "possibly" better than his mother's smothered chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States