Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I cut the salt and cayenne a bit to taste, and use cut-up skinless chicken or bone-in thighs. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fantastic dish! Easy to prepare and the entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was absolutely delicious as written. It tasted like buttery chicken pot pie, without the pie or peas. Any skin-on bone-in chicken pieces will work great, so I used 8 drumsticks. After adding the broth, you should bring it to a boil, stir, add the chicken, bring to a boil again, and then reduce heat to low for simmering. Otherwise, the chicken will sap the heat out and you won't get a good simmer. I followed the recipe as written and after 30 minutes I still needed to bring it to a boil to cook the chicken and thicken the sauce. Another slight improvement is adding salt while the mirepoix cooks (the carrot, celery, and onion). Plus I used Tony's (creole seasoned salt) when flouring the chicken pieces. Thanks for a great comfort food recipe! It's absolutely the best thing on this site that I've been able to execute with ease. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
As written, I give this four stars because I felt that it was lacking flavor. I added garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and celery salt. These seasonings make this a 5 Star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very tasty. My husband cleaned his plate. A great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Yummy!! The only changes I made was to dice the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Comfort food at it's best Veronica! I cut back on the butter and used more seasonings.......garlic and onion powders and dill and added in a touch of Gravy Master to add more flavor. I served this over mashed potatoes and my S.O. and I thought it was just delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was great-a little labor intensive but well worth it. Good old-fashioned comfort food! I highly recommend this especially during the cold winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow, this was delicious! The hint of cayenne really makes this amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I love this dish. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States