Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
No doubt I would pay a pretty penny in a restaurant for this. To make at home is so cheap and easy. I was really excited to make my own gravy as I never had before. It turned out so easy and fun! Can't wait to make this for my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I couldn't stop eating it and the crowd loved it too. Kind of a mix between a stew and a soup. The broth is delicious and the chicken was tender. A fantastic cold-weather meal that you will want to repeat over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
AMAZING....cooked just as written and it was delicious. I did opt to serve it over mashed potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I used boneless chicken breast and used cajun seasoning instead of just salt and pepper, added a really nice zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious recipe, esp after some alteration: added 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp dried garlic flakes, 1 tsp garlic salt, bay leaves. Cooking the chicken in the gravy for another 15 min would have made it fall off the bone, which I will do next time. I also substituted olive oil for the butter as my healthier California alternative. Otherwise I followed the recipe very closely. Really yummy over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Tastes like a homemade stew! I had a whole chicken and am tired of always making beer can chicken with them, so found this recipe, happened to have all the ingredients, and WOW! Great, down home meal with a little kick. We loved it and have enough leftovers for 2 more meals. This is worth cooking up again or sharing the recipe with friends. Next time I will use less carrots and add small, quartered butter potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
What a treat! Simple, delicious flavors, moist and tender chicken... Thank you Veronica for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
so delicious! I was expecting this to be a bit bland but it was so full of flavor and the right amount of heat. , I'm one of those people who insists on using skinless chicken breast (also i cut the amount of butter in half) and this still turned out fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
The flavor in this dish is absolutely delicious! Followed directions as listed and the whole family really loved it. Served with mashed potatoes. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is simply delicious. I served it over quinoa . I did not have cayenne pepper or celery so did not use. I used olive oil instead of butter and just a couple of tablespoons. And I used leftover chicken from both chicken soup and baked chicken. Amazing for leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States