Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was my first time cooking smothered chicken and it was so freakin' good. My husband fist pumped me :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Overall good if a slightly bland but pepped it up by adding a little paprika, celery seed and celery salt and more garlic powder. Also used a little medium sherry to deglaze the pan after sautéing the vegetables and chicken before adding the flour. Fairly easy to cook, just be organised in your prep. Good family week day meal. We served with mash potato and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I actually LOVED this but found the browning of the chicken to be a waste. Once you place the chicken back in the gravy, cover, & simmer, the skin turns soft & mushy. Once you start serving this, the skin falls off & you end up w/a mouthful at some point.That's the ONLY reason this gets knocked down 1 star. Flavor is AMAZING! Getting a mouthful of chewy chicken skin is disgusting, so I definitely want to try it w/blsl chicken next time....or at least pull the skin off...altho the bones got in the way also....yep, blsl will be the way for ME to go next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!!!! Make this recipe ALL the time and have even turned it into a stew and a soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Do you think I could brown the chicken in a pan, then transfer and cook this in a crock pot?? Its sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great Recipe!!!! For months my husband had been saying that he wanted some old-fashioned smothered chicken the way they used to make in the South. I tried to follow the directions to the letter and let me tell ya', this smothered chicken is "the BOMB!!" I used chicken thighs and legs only because I didn't have time to cut up a whole chicken. This chicken is moist, flavorful and just dang good. The gravy that it makes is incredible. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Where did I go wrong? Why didn't I have brown gravy? The recipe was pretty bland also. I've added some additional seasoning but not sure how it will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
as written, I probably would not make this chicken again. "Medium-high" was much too high a temperature to brown my chicken- it quickly browned the butter, then burned the flour on the chicken and in the pan instead of producing flavorful browned bits on my chicken (I should have listened to my instincts). Also, I had to add more butter than was called for to cook the veggies until they were "softened". This dish is similar to other ones I have made- if I'd followed this recipe as a guideline for flavors while using my own cooking knowledge, it would have been a more successful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
So good! Added a little bit more flour/butter to thicken it more. And only added 1 tsp of salt, instead of 2. Otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
How did my Texan ancestors manage to bring grits, hominy, chicken fried steak and greens to Arizona with them but not this? This was my first time even eating smothered chicken. So, so good. I used boneless, skinless thighs because that's what I had. I also added a portobello mushroom to the veggies because I love them in just about anything. Ate it without rice or taters to avoid any more carbs. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States