Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I couldn't add a photo because it was eaten so fast! I made about triple the original recipe. My husband and four kids all loved it. I used 14 legs and 14 thighs for 6 people and there was nothing left over. I personally prefer more seasoning so I added some stuff I had in the cupboard. And to be honest, I'm a guesstimator so while I used all the ingredients called for I can't say that I followed the recipe exactly....I'm not one to measure anything. This was an easy, affordable meal that I was able to throw together last minute. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erdellhak
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Pure deliciousness! Followed to a T and this is like southern soul comfort food to perfection! Lots of Taste and hearty. Perfect for a nice cool nights supper to fill up the tummies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe was AMAZING! Very easy to follow AND delicious:) my partner (who grew up on soul food) loved this! I will definitely be keeping this one! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delicious!!! Easy, and very tasty! I made it with candied sweet potatoes and cabbage, and even I had to go back for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It was GREAT. I used dark meat WITH the skin and bones intact; more flavorful and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Weal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My family enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to prepare and cook. I made a pot of rice to go with the gravy and it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Way too timing consuming for the chicken to come out bland. Medium-high was too high to brown the chicken, the butter ended up burning. Cooking time was off, after 30 minutes the chicken was still pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have been making this particular recipe for years. This is the best smothered chicken recipe I've ever tried. Anyone who has ever tried it in my familly absolutely loves it! So, this has become one of those "legiondary" recipes in my familly! If you want good southern smothered chicken this is the only recipe you'll ever need again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe. My family complimented the dish. It was beautiful and satisfying. My heart was happy to serve this hearty, tender dish. I must say the taste made me dance. Lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
SO good. One warning though, use your very largest skillet. Mine bubbled all over the place and made a big mess. Worth it though, because this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States