Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
cut butter in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Really good sauce but way too much butter. The chicken itself was bland but everything tasted great if there was a lot of sauce with every chicken bite. i would make it again but try to cut calories and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I contemplated giving this four stars because I honestly didn't like the dish very much. Especially because of all the hassle for a mediocre dish. However, my family enjoyed it and said that it was like the filling of a chicken pot pie so I stretched for four stars. On a sidenote I used skinless chicken breast for the recipe and added freshly chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Tasted great with Sarah's Rice Pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Just made this recipe this evening, used boneless thighs and followed the recipe completely. Very very yummy! I should of made mashed potatoes to put it on, we served it over a slice of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Really, really good! The gravy was outstanding! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I made this last night and it was wonderful! I used sea salt and just put some on each piece along with the pepper. I definately used more than the recipe called for. But omitted the salt and pepper at the end since I used plenty in the first part of pan frying the chicken. I used one extra clove of garlic and added some mushrooms that I needed to move. Put in the correct measurements of carrots,onions and celery. But added extra cayenne pepper for a little extra kick. It turned out perfect and husband was extremely pleased. I cant wait to make this again.Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I'm not very practiced at browning and pan frying, but thought this recipe looked interesting and sounded good. Best part...I had all the ingredients on hand. I was very pleased with how this turned out and it tasted great! I didn't really measure my onions, carrots and celery, just kind of eye-balled it. I was nervous about the cayenne pepper because my kids don't really like spicy foods, but it was just enough kick without being too much. I added a little more roux to the sauce at the end to thicken it. Served it with rice pilaf and used the sauce as a gravy for the rice. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great comfort food. Reminds me of a chicken goulash or cacciatore. I substituted chopped summer squash and white mushrooms for the carrots and celery because it's what I had on hand. The flavors worked well with the recipe. The "gravy" didn't thicken much after simmering so I added some corn starch at the end to thicken it a little. Excellent over white rice as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States