Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved it !! Added extra cayenne pepper and seasoning to kick up the gravy . Super easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmorse1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I forgot about the carrots but thought this turned out good. The only thing i dont like is that the skin of the chicken ends up soggy. My sis and boyfriend pulled the skin off and didnt eat that part, so i might make it in the future minus the skin or just not let the chicken stew in the gravy so long. But the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Alisa♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This recipe is definitely a keeper! I am on a strict diet and was planning to only serve this to my family but once I tried it I couldn't stop myself! LOL! It's so delicious, and the cayenne pepper gives this little hint of spiciness that is not overwhelming but that definitely takes the dish to a higher level. I wouldn't change a thing! (except for using the salt and black pepper to your own liking) just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is a good solid dinner. Its easier then it looks and I had everything in the house to make it. I do think next time I'll use boneless skinless breast. Personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Photo by Sharita
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made this for dinner for my husband. We both loved it! He said it was "just like my Grandma used to make." I loved the way the chicken browned in the butter, though I added a couple tbsps of canola oil to keep the butter from burning. I used the chopped seasoning my husband buys at HEB (onions, bell pepper, celery, garlic and parsley) and added the chopped carrots. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Family Favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Hmmm, trying to think how I can help those that didn't quite get this recipe. 1.Unless you're used to cooking "soul" food, this aint no weeknight dish! I can whip it up quickly and have shortcuts, but don't attempt this on hump day if its your first time. 2. Smothered chicken is basically semi-fried chicken and pan gravy. If you can make decent fried chicken and a good pan gravy, put the two together and that's the gist of this dish. 3.To solve the soupy gravy problem, start with the rioux first: add the flour to the pan drippings and cook/stir constantly for about 5 minutes or so, then add the veggies to that for another 5 minutes. It will look a mess, but when you add the liquid and stir it good; your gravy will appear. Add about a cup of liquid at a time and stir between so its not too soupy. Then TASTE IT before you add the chicken. If it's bland, add more salt/pepper/garlic powder/dried thyme/cayenne or whatever till it tastes the way you want. THEN add the chicken. Hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
No doubt I would pay a pretty penny in a restaurant for this. To make at home is so cheap and easy. I was really excited to make my own gravy as I never had before. It turned out so easy and fun! Can't wait to make this for my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I couldn't stop eating it and the crowd loved it too. Kind of a mix between a stew and a soup. The broth is delicious and the chicken was tender. A fantastic cold-weather meal that you will want to repeat over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
AMAZING....cooked just as written and it was delicious. I did opt to serve it over mashed potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States