Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
as written, I probably would not make this chicken again. "Medium-high" was much too high a temperature to brown my chicken- it quickly browned the butter, then burned the flour on the chicken and in the pan instead of producing flavorful browned bits on my chicken (I should have listened to my instincts). Also, I had to add more butter than was called for to cook the veggies until they were "softened". This dish is similar to other ones I have made- if I'd followed this recipe as a guideline for flavors while using my own cooking knowledge, it would have been a more successful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
So good! Added a little bit more flour/butter to thicken it more. And only added 1 tsp of salt, instead of 2. Otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
How did my Texan ancestors manage to bring grits, hominy, chicken fried steak and greens to Arizona with them but not this? This was my first time even eating smothered chicken. So, so good. I used boneless, skinless thighs because that's what I had. I also added a portobello mushroom to the veggies because I love them in just about anything. Ate it without rice or taters to avoid any more carbs. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Loved this Recipe...as written! Used organic free range chicken with homemade broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Sooo delicious! I was surprised I could cook something this good! I followed the directions pretty closely. I added green peppers and mushrooms to the vegetable mix, and I also threw in some pork tasso with the veggies, just for good measure. I cooked this for 2 friends from the US South, and I was nervous about meeting their high standards, but they loved it! I served it with my special mashed potatoes (extra rich, with lots of butter, heavy whipping cream, and cheese mixed in) instead of the traditional rice, and it was heavenly. I also used the same spices, but to my own taste, and put a pinch of dried basil in, as well. Can't wait to show off this recipe to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Averill Park, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I used leg quarters for this recipe and it took twice as long to cook as the time stated. I really didn't care for the way the skin was so slimy either. The flavor was good, but I doubt I will make this again. It just frustrated me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This soul food dish was excellent and very rich! Carrots were brilliant, adding color and depth of flavor; they make this version stand out. Pleasant spicing. As with all simmered dishes, thorough browning is essential for a savory dish. Will certainly make this again. Thank you, Veronica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
First time having Smothered Chicken and my kids, husband & i loved it!! Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This dish was great! The taste was bland I had to add extra seasoning (all season salt), family loved it. Will defiantly severe it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monteweathers
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
delicious. served over mashed potatoes. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I tried equal parts cumin and chili powder (about a teaspoon to tablespoon depending on how much strength you like). I also dusted the contents of the pan with ground sage. tasted wonderful! we'll make this part of our regular regimen, though I will try subbing in some healthy alternatives to the 1/2c butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyansMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States