Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I'm not very practiced at browning and pan frying, but thought this recipe looked interesting and sounded good. Best part...I had all the ingredients on hand. I was very pleased with how this turned out and it tasted great! I didn't really measure my onions, carrots and celery, just kind of eye-balled it. I was nervous about the cayenne pepper because my kids don't really like spicy foods, but it was just enough kick without being too much. I added a little more roux to the sauce at the end to thicken it. Served it with rice pilaf and used the sauce as a gravy for the rice. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Great comfort food. Reminds me of a chicken goulash or cacciatore. I substituted chopped summer squash and white mushrooms for the carrots and celery because it's what I had on hand. The flavors worked well with the recipe. The "gravy" didn't thicken much after simmering so I added some corn starch at the end to thicken it a little. Excellent over white rice as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I couldn't add a photo because it was eaten so fast! I made about triple the original recipe. My husband and four kids all loved it. I used 14 legs and 14 thighs for 6 people and there was nothing left over. I personally prefer more seasoning so I added some stuff I had in the cupboard. And to be honest, I'm a guesstimator so while I used all the ingredients called for I can't say that I followed the recipe exactly....I'm not one to measure anything. This was an easy, affordable meal that I was able to throw together last minute. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erdellhak
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Pure deliciousness! Followed to a T and this is like southern soul comfort food to perfection! Lots of Taste and hearty. Perfect for a nice cool nights supper to fill up the tummies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe was AMAZING! Very easy to follow AND delicious:) my partner (who grew up on soul food) loved this! I will definitely be keeping this one! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delicious!!! Easy, and very tasty! I made it with candied sweet potatoes and cabbage, and even I had to go back for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It was GREAT. I used dark meat WITH the skin and bones intact; more flavorful and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Weal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My family enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to prepare and cook. I made a pot of rice to go with the gravy and it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Way too timing consuming for the chicken to come out bland. Medium-high was too high to brown the chicken, the butter ended up burning. Cooking time was off, after 30 minutes the chicken was still pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States