Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very nice dish. My husband recommended serving it with waffles and mashed potatoes. This surprised me since he isn't a fan of chicken and waffles. We loved the gravy. I used chicken breast with bones and skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I wasn't sure about this, but it was getting late on a Sunday and I had to make something. All I had was chicken breasts so I cut them into long chunks and followed the recipe from there. Didn't have celery, and eliminated the cayenne pepper b'c we don't like spicy. OMG...THIS was the best recipe ever! I was still thinking about it the next day and couldn't wait for dinner to have the leftovers!! Really good comfort food. Thanks for a GREAT recipe! Will definitely be added to our rotating schedule of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I left out the celery and used boneless chicken breasts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Best smothered chicken recipe that has ever been made in my kitchen! Mine took a little longer because I only had split breasts. Even my 3 yr old ate it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myssie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Excellent smothered chicken recipe! No need to change a thing, though I have added mushrooms and chopped garlic and may also add some green pepper next time... Thanks for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
absolutely fantastic! easily adaptable for dietary restrictions if needed. Soul food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yantab
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I'd never made smothered chicken before so I wanted to try something new. I didn't use the celery or cheyene pepper but I used everything else and my family absolutely loved it. My neice couldn't stop talking about it. This recipe was defintiely a hit for me I'll be using it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sorry this one just didn't do it for us. It smelled really great, but tasted very bland. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYJO definitely not a pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is very yummy! I make garlic mashed red potatoes and serve the chicken with gravey right on top of the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States