Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very good chicken, moist and delicious, definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
The best chicken I have had in a long time, kids even loved the meal, I used chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was my first time making it so I followed the recipe exactly, except I only had chicken breasts,and it came out great! Even kids loved it (which is rare), so I definitely plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TifaraW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
There were so many comments about this recipe that I had to try it! I was nervous about it after I started taste testing it, but my husband loved it and kids liked it. I didn't add as many onions - just one large. And I added parsley for color and a bit of flavor and chili powder for more umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happymom6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Excellent! My first attempt at smothered chicken. I used boneless chicken thighs as I don't like eating meat from the bone unless it's fried chicken (a weird quirk I know). Will definitely make again. Only problem was no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great dish, easy to make. It will become a part of my "rotation". My only regret is that I only had boneless/skinless breast at the time and although I know it's the healthier choice (and it was yummy)but I'm sure that it would be off the charts with fatty thighs. Mmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Veronica......your recipe was featured on AOL as part of a recipe collection for soul food. It just jumped out at me, as I could taste it in my mind, so I had to try it. This was sooooooooo delicious, and my whole family loved it, including my 19-month-old grandson, cayenne kick and all. Even though we mostly eat boneless, skinless chicken breasts, you'll be happy to know that I used bone-in, skin-on thighs, and it was perfect. After the frying step, I scraped up all the bits in the bottom of the pan, saved them, and threw them back in when I poured in the chicken stock. Thanks so much......this is a keeper and it will be served here often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianojan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Better than mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dolton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Excellent dish!! I used boneless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken, sauteed the chicken in a combination of butter and olive oil, added fewer carrots than indicated, and added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce & liquid smoke. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This turned out great and looked impressive. I used chicken thighs. I should've browned them more because the skin and breading wanted to come off at the end. It was still wonderful and the chicken was so moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States