Soul Smothered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Way too timing consuming for the chicken to come out bland. Medium-high was too high to brown the chicken, the butter ended up burning. Cooking time was off, after 30 minutes the chicken was still pink. A waste of time and chicken. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have been making this particular recipe for years. This is the best smothered chicken recipe I've ever tried. Anyone who has ever tried it in my familly absolutely loves it! So, this has become one of those "legiondary" recipes in my familly! If you want good southern smothered chicken this is the only recipe you'll ever need again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe. My family complimented the dish. It was beautiful and satisfying. My heart was happy to serve this hearty, tender dish. I must say the taste made me dance. Lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
SO good. One warning though, use your very largest skillet. Mine bubbled all over the place and made a big mess. Worth it though, because this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was my first time cooking smothered chicken and it was so freakin' good. My husband fist pumped me :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Overall good if a slightly bland but pepped it up by adding a little paprika, celery seed and celery salt and more garlic powder. Also used a little medium sherry to deglaze the pan after sautéing the vegetables and chicken before adding the flour. Fairly easy to cook, just be organised in your prep. Good family week day meal. We served with mash potato and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I actually LOVED this but found the browning of the chicken to be a waste. Once you place the chicken back in the gravy, cover, & simmer, the skin turns soft & mushy. Once you start serving this, the skin falls off & you end up w/a mouthful at some point.That's the ONLY reason this gets knocked down 1 star. Flavor is AMAZING! Getting a mouthful of chewy chicken skin is disgusting, so I definitely want to try it w/blsl chicken next time....or at least pull the skin off...altho the bones got in the way also....yep, blsl will be the way for ME to go next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have never left a review for anything on this site but I have to for this! It is amazing!! I have cooked it the way it says too, I have also thrown everything in the crock pot after browning the chicken and turned it into a stew and I have also used the same recipe and made a soup out of this! So so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Do you think I could brown the chicken in a pan, then transfer and cook this in a crock pot?? Its sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great Recipe!!!! For months my husband had been saying that he wanted some old-fashioned smothered chicken the way they used to make in the South. I tried to follow the directions to the letter and let me tell ya', this smothered chicken is "the BOMB!!" I used chicken thighs and legs only because I didn't have time to cut up a whole chicken. This chicken is moist, flavorful and just dang good. The gravy that it makes is incredible. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States