Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I have made this twice using 4 cube steak. First time I added quartered mushrooms and chopped the onion instead of slicing. Came out pretty good so I tried again. Second time I omitted to worchershire, chopped the onion and sliced 8 oz mushrooms. Seasoned steaks with salt and pepper and then dredged in flour and browned. Then I added onions and sauted until limp and then added mushrooms and lightly browned. Added two cans beef stock, salt & pepper to tasted and added 1/4 teas. garlic powder. Simmered on stove for 2 hours. Last 30 minutes of simmering, I removed some broth and blended well with 1 tables cornstarch and returned to pan and continued simmering 30 minutes. Served with mashed potatoes and sauted zuchinni. Great gravy! Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
SO good!! Takes some time to cook but tastes like a cross between salisbury steak and meatloaf.. One of our faves served w/ white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My husband and boys really liked this recipe. It was so gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This is a very good recipe. My husband and I both enjoyed it. Nice to have another way of using cube steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia Leggett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Pretty good, enough unlike the TV dinner type salisbury steak that I gave it a try. I salted and peppered the steaks before coating them in flour. The kids all ate it, which makes it a winner in my book. P.S. I just made this for the second time and increased the worchestershire sauce to 3 Tbs. That brings it up to a "5 star" recipe! We had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I gave this 5 stars because it is one of the easiest and best tasting cubed steaks I have made. It's very tender and flavorful. I served this with the honey mustard roasted potatoes and it was very well received. My family doesn't like gravy so I omitted the final step and just served with the juices in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Wonderful, very tender.... I added a can of mushrooms to it, but did not and would not change anything else. Thanks for sharing the recipe Nanci!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is so good! I actually put all of the ingredients in my slow cooker and left it there while I was gone to work. The steaks cooked about 8 hours and then when I got home, I made the gravy. This is definately a keeper recipe in our house! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
These are great and easier to make than "regular" salisbury steak. The only change I made was to add lots of fresh, sliced mushrooms in the layers with the onions. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I was very impressed with this recipe. Like other reviewers, I made this in the crockpot. The meat came out so tender that I could pull it apart with a fork. I did add about 1/2 t black pepper, 1/4 t paprika, and 1/4 t thyme to the gravy just to spice it up a bit. It's excellent served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States