Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was a great recipe. Even though it had a long cooking time. My 7yo loved it and it came out just the way it looked!!! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Very easy recipie to follow however, it left the meat rather dry. Perhaps with some "tweaking" I might be able to solve that dilemma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was an okay dish. Everyone ate all their food but it was missing something. I added extra worchestire sauce but it was still bland. Next time I think I'll take the advice of others and season the steak before coating it in flour. I also think I'll add mushrooms to the dish. Another thing I'd probably add is an envelope of dried onion soup mix to add just a little more flavor. Not bad for a starting recipe but you need to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This didn't "WOW" me but my hubby liked it. I seasoned the meat with cajun seasoning and onion powder before browning. I also added a can of mushrooms and used 2 onions. I think it would be better over mashed potatoes (we had it over pasta)I may try it again because I like the part of putting it in the oven for 2 hours to get it tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa A.
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was good! I tried it with a can of Campbell's French Onion soup, which added a lot of flavor but didn't turn as great as I imagined. Next time it will be plain beef broth with a little extra water to bring it up to 2 even cups and cut down on some of the heavy saltiness of canned broth. I also swapped the onion slices for canned mushrooms which was marvelous! The sauce was thick enough right out of the oven but I would advise adding maybe a tablespoon or two of flour and ¼ - ½ cup of of flour to make it a little creamy. I took a hint from another reviewer and took an hour off the cooking time - don't do it! The steaks were tough. Even though I’m wary of it becoming too tender (I like cube steak a little bit chewy) I will definitely cook it the whole time and not uncover it next time. Thanks for the great recipe this isn’t as “sorta” as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
My family loved these. I have made them about 5-6 times now and just forgot to come back and review. I gave it four stars because it's a great starter but needs flavor. I did add seasoning to the flour before I dredged the steaks in it. I added pepper, garlic powder, and seasoned salt. I also made the gravy the proper way (on the stovetop with drippings) rather than have a lumpy mess at the end. I served this with mashed potatoes and macaroni and cheese. Also good with sweet white rice. YUM. Sounds like dinner for tonite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
IT WAS A PRETTY GOOD! IT WAS ALSO VERY TENDER, WHICH IS VERY IMPORTANT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My husband's favorite food is cubed steaks, but to me, they always come out tough. Not anymore! These are extremely tender and very flavorful! I added garlic salt to the steaks, but made the rest as written. I would give this recipe more than 5 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Although the steaks were tender, this meat is very bland. Might could be good if doctored ALOT. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Cube steaks are tough and very bland so they need lots of "doctoring." This recipe adequately tenderizes the steaks, but contributes hardly any flavor. The only seasoning is a bit of Worchestershire. Even after adding salt and pepper, my family found the meat and gravy to be ho hum. Another problem with this recipe is the gravy prep. When making gravy properly you blend flour with fat and get a smooth paste before adding liquid. This recipe has you add flour to the fat AND broth so the flour immediately clumps up. The solution would be to retain your pan drippings when you brown the meat, add flour to those drippings and then add broth last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States