Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The majority of my family loved this one! The cooking time is the key to this, it definately makes the cube steaks tender! I followed some of the other reviews and made sure the flour was really seasoned. I added fresh mushrooms, cut back on the worchestershire sauce, added 1 pack of onion soup mix and prepared 2 packs of our favorite beef gravy. I was hoping there would be leftovers for work the next day, but the family liked this too much to leave anything behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEVYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
made this one lastnight,with mashed potatos and whole corn, the steaks are very tender, very good and pretty simple to throw togather. we will be making this again and passing this recipe on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Sorry for the previous mistake of only 1 star...my mistake that seems I could not edit! Another good one...because of my daughter's intolerance to wheat, I used Pamela's Baking Mix in place of the flour and added seasonings, browned the 8 cubes of steak, put it in 3 c. of beef broth and added just a touch of Worcestershire sauce. Simmered on the stove for 2 hours, and at the end used some cold water with cornstarch and added to the pot. Served over mashed potatoes...yummy and easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. I followed Nette's suggestion to use additional spices and also spice up the flour. Then used two Knorr's beef bullion cubes and four cups of water to make more gravy. I also de-fatted the broth but I did it before adding the flour. Also, I took about 1/2 cup of de-fatted broth, added the flour and then whisked it and added it to the remaining broth to make the gravy. Not a lump in sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as is, and my family raved and asked (as they were eating it) when they could have it again!!! When preparing the steaks, I salt and peppered each side before I floured and fried. It similar to chicken fried steak how it is floured and fried, but a great alternative to the white gravy. Plus if you cook it for as long as the recipe says, it comes out really tender. A pot of mashed potatoes is just the thing to go with it. Another family favorite, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosy
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This has become one of the favorite recipes in my house! The only adjustment that I make is adding a packet of Onion soup mix, this gives it a nice taste! I do not have a dutch oven so I fry the beef in a frying pan and then put everything into a baking dish and pour the remaining oil from the frying pan into the baking dish. This is excellent with mashed potatoes, and the meat is so tender that it falls apart when I'm serving it! Absolutely delicious! It also can be adapted into a slow cooker if you don't have the time to stand by the oven, but I prefer it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
We had gotten 1/4 of a cow from my fiance's uncle who raises cows so we had a few of these cube steaks that I didn't know what to do with because they always turn out tough and bland. This recipe didn't really help it. I could blame my steaks but I know that we have really good cuts of meat because every thing else we have is awesome. This was just bland, even the gravy, and I even added garlic while searing the steaks on the stove. It didn't really give the steaks any flavor and they were still tough. It wasn't the worst cube steak I've ever eaten, but it wasn't really good either. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I noticed that some of the reviewers complained about the meat being dry and bland. I always use a recipe as a guide, meaning if it seems to be lacking enough seasoning, I add more. I did add additional seasonings and I cooked it for an hour and a half. I also made a paste using cornstarch instead of flour and added it to the broth. It had just the right amount of thickness. My husband liked this recipe so much that he asked for seconds. This is something I will be making often. It was very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaandLarry Blevins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have made this a few times now and it gets rave reviews always. I like that it is so easy and prep time is minimal. Had my sister over for dinner one night and she loved it. I serve it with a salad and mashed potatoes!!! Truly a comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was a very easy and yummy recipe. I use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States