Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as is, and my family raved and asked (as they were eating it) when they could have it again!!! When preparing the steaks, I salt and peppered each side before I floured and fried. It similar to chicken fried steak how it is floured and fried, but a great alternative to the white gravy. Plus if you cook it for as long as the recipe says, it comes out really tender. A pot of mashed potatoes is just the thing to go with it. Another family favorite, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosy
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This has become one of the favorite recipes in my house! The only adjustment that I make is adding a packet of Onion soup mix, this gives it a nice taste! I do not have a dutch oven so I fry the beef in a frying pan and then put everything into a baking dish and pour the remaining oil from the frying pan into the baking dish. This is excellent with mashed potatoes, and the meat is so tender that it falls apart when I'm serving it! Absolutely delicious! It also can be adapted into a slow cooker if you don't have the time to stand by the oven, but I prefer it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
We had gotten 1/4 of a cow from my fiance's uncle who raises cows so we had a few of these cube steaks that I didn't know what to do with because they always turn out tough and bland. This recipe didn't really help it. I could blame my steaks but I know that we have really good cuts of meat because every thing else we have is awesome. This was just bland, even the gravy, and I even added garlic while searing the steaks on the stove. It didn't really give the steaks any flavor and they were still tough. It wasn't the worst cube steak I've ever eaten, but it wasn't really good either. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I noticed that some of the reviewers complained about the meat being dry and bland. I always use a recipe as a guide, meaning if it seems to be lacking enough seasoning, I add more. I did add additional seasonings and I cooked it for an hour and a half. I also made a paste using cornstarch instead of flour and added it to the broth. It had just the right amount of thickness. My husband liked this recipe so much that he asked for seconds. This is something I will be making often. It was very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have made this a few times now and it gets rave reviews always. I like that it is so easy and prep time is minimal. Had my sister over for dinner one night and she loved it. I serve it with a salad and mashed potatoes!!! Truly a comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was a very easy and yummy recipe. I use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
good basic dish and very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Very simple and easy! I chose to cook this in a crock-pot (my 18-month old son makes cooking right before dinnertime a challenge :) I did take the advice of seasoning the beef (onion powder, garlic powder and fresh black pepper) before rolling it in flour. I also browned it in Olive Oil before putting in the crock pot. I then added the beef broth, Worcestershire sauce, onions and mushrooms. It cooked for eight hours...served it over mashed potatoes and with brocolli. My husband asked to put it on the rotation! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful! My husband loved it & so did I. I did add a small can of mushrooms & right before I served it I thickened the gravy a littl with some cornstarch & water. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Steaks came out tender and delicious. Forgot to add some mushrooms to my dish. This was very easy to prepared Served with mashed potatoes and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States