Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I doubled this recipe so I could freeze enough for 2 people in individual freezer bags. Wonderful when you are in a hurry. I also added sliced mushrooms. Added some wine to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Really really tender and yummy. I agree with reviews about seasoning before flouring - used plenty of garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. Also agreed on lumpy gravy - the flour coating does clump off when cooking. I ended up straining the gravy into a saucepan and also strained off the layer of fat. I added more broth as we like extra gravy. I thickened it up with a mixture of flour and cold water which I whisked into the gravy (over med. heat). We didn't love the strong Worchestershire sauce flavor so will use a little less next time. All in all... it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very good. It was simple to make and was a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I had to use more oil than called for for the frying. I also seasoned the meat with salt, pepper, and garlic powder with parsley on both sides before I breaded it with the flour. I used 3 onions and a large can of mushrooms in the layering. Since we like a lot of gravy I added some water to the beef sauce in the pan (after I removed the meat, onion and mushrooms at the end of the 2 hrs. cooking time) added some more salt and pepper, and enough flour to make it thick. After it was the consistency I wanted, I returned the meat etc. to the pan with the gravy and returned it to the oven on 225 for another hour. Turned out EXCELLENT! I don't like Round Steak, but this was enough to change my mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Decided to use this recipe for venison cube steaks. Very good the first time around, the second time around I added some cooking wine and sliced red peppers; it was even better and has been requested by my children at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The only reason why I didn't give 5 stars is our cube steaks fell apart. The taste was great and we served it over mashed potatoes. We did chop up some cremini mushrooms and added those with the onions in layers. I also used bullion paste to make the stock. We didn't even need the flour in the end as it was thick enough. I'm really looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was a perfect cold night, warm tummy meal! Be sure to season the steaks as you brown. And double check the seasoning again as you make the gravy. I used low sodium beef broth to keep it from getting too salty, then added a pinch to the gravy. I also added fresh mushrooms with the onions. To add the flour without lumps, mix 2 heaping TBSP flour with about 1/2 C cool water in a shaking jar (cleaned jam jar, gladware container, canning jar with lid etc.) Shake until the flour is incorporated (no lumps) and add about half to the boiling cooking broth with fast stirring. Let boil a bit to check how thick it will be and add more if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This wasn't very great. It was too salty. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I LIKE OTHER REVIEWERS SEASONED MY FLOUR WITH GARLIC POWDER, PEPPER AND ONION POWDER TO THE GIVE THE MEAT MORE FLAVOR. MY HUBBY REALLY LIKED THE DISH. MY ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THAT THE FLOUR CAME OFF OF THE MEAT AND WAS JUST FLOATING IN THE POT (NOT SURE IF ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS ISSUE) SO WHEN IT CAME TIME TO SEPARATNG THE MEAT AND ONIONS FROM THE SAUCE- IT WAS A LITTLE DIFFICULT. THE GRAVY AFTERWARDS WAS VERY DELICIOUS. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Very tender! It reminded me of my mom's cube steak, but this was much simpler. Mom does it on the stove top and cooks for about an hour instead of two. I felt that the seasoning would be lacking so I added salt and pepper to the steak and seasoned the flour with salt pepper and about 1/2 ts of garlic powder. Also included mushroom when I added the onion. We enjoyed the gravy with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States