Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this because I had some beef that was a bit too tough. I wanted a recipe that required a slower/longer cooking time. So I gave this a try. Even though I did not use cube steak, the recipe turned out to be all I expected and more. It was very good. Ill make it again in a few days and I will be using the called for cube steak and expect it will be even better. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
We really liked this one! The meat was tender and flavorful! The fam doesn't care much for Onions so I substituted 1 package Onion soup mix and 1/3 cup cooking Sherry. I thought it was a little salty but my husband thought it was perfect. (Next time I'll use 1/4 cup) Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This one was fork tender, but I had a couple of issues. First, I too added seasoning to the flour. Salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. I was a little concerned when I put it all in my dutch oven that the broth wasn't completely coving the meat. I put it in at 350 for the alloted time and when I pulled it out almost all the broth had evaporated. If I did this again I would completely cover my meat and onions with the broth and turn the oven way down to maybe 300. 350 for 2 hours is a long time. My oven temp is spot on and I use very good enamel pots. I was able to salvage the gravy by adding the rest of my box of beef broth and heating it up. I had no issue with whisking the leftover flour into my pot and getting it to thicken without lumps. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We all really liked this. I added spices to the flour before I dredged the steaks. And like other reviewers, I used beefy onion soup mix and brown gravy mix with about 2 cups of water. The steaks were fork-tender and the gravy was already made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very good and easy!! I made this with venison and my husband said it was his favorite way to eat venison. Big compliment coming from my hunter husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made these in the crockpot, like a previous post suggested. Added a couple chopped cloves of garlic, a small can of sliced mushrooms, and some garlic salt, onion powder, & black pepper. I used cornstarch to make a gravy at the end of cooking. Delicious!!! Cube steaks were so tender they were falling apart. Great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Yum! I did season the steaks with garlic powder and season salt before dredging in the flour, and I used a little less Worcestershire (because I ran out)... meat was very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
For those of you who are in a hurry,dredge and brown the cube steaks then layer in a skillet with a packet of onion soup mix and 3 cups of water and bake @350 for 1 1/2 hrs- fork tender and easy as could be -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abamadacort3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Constantia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was the best receipe using cube steak I have ever tasted. My husband is on a strict sodium restricted diet, and he absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious. Not tough; like everyone had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States